Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Health Sciences Graduate Help - All Text: Common Health Sciences Research Databases

Prefer video content? Click here for the video help area.

Key Databases

Using UpToDate - UofM Members

Scopus - Accessing Articles

Scopus - Finding Related Articles

Health Databases
A-Z

Using UpToDate - UofM Members

UpToDate is used by clinicians and non-clinicians in the delivery of healthcare.  It includes more than 10,000 topics covering general internal medicine and more than 20 specialities; a select drug database; patient education topics; and a number of medical calculators.

To access UpToDate visit the University of Manitoba Libraries home page at: http://umanitoba.ca/libraries. Click on the Databases A-Z listing.

There are over 500 databases at the University of Manitoba.  To find UpToDate, type the title of the database into the “Find Databases by Title” box and click the “Go” button. (Remember UpToDate is all one word!) Click on the title “UpToDate” to access it.

Login to UpToDate with your UMNetID and password.  This the same login that you would use for your University of Manitoba email or jUMp. You may now begin using UpToDate. 

To use the UpToDate app on your mobile device or to track CME credits you must first register for a free account with UpToDate. Click on “Register”. Fill in the required information under “Register (New User)” and create a username and password you will remember. Once you are done click “Submit Registration”.

An email will be sent to you with instructions on how do download the UpToDate app. Remember that you will be asked to sign in to UpToDate every 90 days from a desktop computer to renew your account with UpToDate. This is important if you wish to continue to use the UpToDate app.

If you have any questions about using UpToDate please contact your nearest Health Sciences Library.

Scopus - Accessing Articles

Scopus is a large interdisciplinary database. It can be a good place to look when searching for articles on science-related topics.

The U of M pays for access to this database so to get to it you have to first go to the University of Manitoba Libraries homepage.  

To access this database click on the “Databases A-Z” link. Once you’re on the “Databases A-Z” page click on “S”. Scroll down until you see “Scopus”. Clicking on the Scopus link will take you to the main search page for Scopus. 

Enter search terms into the keyword search box. At this point you can also limit your search by date range or subject area if you wanted, but I’m just going to search without applying limits. On the results page on Scopus you can go straight to the UofM record of the article its full-text by clicking on the gold Getit@UML button OR you can click on the article title to read the abstract and other information about the article.

From the article page you can click on the Getit@UML button, export to a citation manager, or save to a list in your Scopus account. To find out more about how to do these things and more in Scopus contact your liaison librarian.

Scopus - Finding Related Articles

If you require a more general orientation to using Scopus check out “Scopus - Accessing Articles”.

Once you're on the page of an article you’re interested in, you can use it to find related articles on the same topic.

By scrolling down on the page you will see the reference list of that article. (Note: This feature can take a few moments to load.) You can find other more recent related articles in the Cited By box which lists articles which have cited the article you’re looking at. To find out more about Citation Tracking check out the “Citation tracking” video at HelpHub