Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Health Sciences Resident Help - All Text: Google Scholar Help

Prefer video content? Click here for the video help area.

Searching UML With Google Scholar

Settings with Google Scholar

Searching UML with Google Scholar

In this tutorial, we will cover the following topics:

  1. What is Google Scholar?
  2. What does Google Scholar include?
  3. When to use Google Scholar effectively
  4. How to access UManitoba resources through Google Scholar

1. What is Google Scholar?

Google scholar is a search engine that provides a way to easily research broad academic topics.

2. What does Google Scholar include?

Google Scholar includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.

Google Scholar resources are mainly science and technology related.

Citation information is also provided, allowing you to easily cite your sources.

Google Scholar includes papers from a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, and universities.

3. When to use Google Scholar

To use Google Scholar effectively, use it for an initial search for scholarly literature, when a specific article from a specific journal is needed, or to quickly find relevant results on a topic of research.

4. How to access UManitoba resources through Google Scholar

The best way to access UManitoba Libraries articles through Google Scholar is to go to the libraries homepage www.umanitoba.ca/libraries. Once you click on the link, the Google Scholar page will appear and when you perform a search, the results will be linked to UManitoba Libraries. I performed a basic search for “Cell Biology” to illustrate how the results page looks. You can see that along with some results, the Get it at UML link appears. If you click on that link it will take you to the One-Stop Search results page.

Please note: you will need to have selected "University of Manitoba - Check Library Access" within your Google Scholar settings to view links to UM Libraries material. See "Settings with Google Scholar" for more information.

Settings with Google Scholar

This video describes how to set up Google Scholar to access e-journals and other online materials through the University of Manitoba Libraries.

On the Google Scholar page go to Settings.

Select “Library Links.”

In the box below “Show library access links for (choose up to five libraries):”

Type: Manitoba

And click on the search button

A list of library access links will display below the box

Click on the box beside University of Manitoba – GetIt@UML ( and then save the new setting.

Let’s do a search in Google Scholar to see what the library access link looks like.

I did a search for "quantum computing."

Look for the Get It@UML link ( to indicate that the University of Manitoba Libraries has that item.

You can see that not all items listed have Get It@UML beside them indicating they are available through our Library.

To open an item and view full-text, click on the Get It@UML link.  Below you will see a list of full-text links.

Click on one of the links to open full-text in a new tab or window. 

In some cases you will have to click on the PDF link to display full-text.

If you are connecting from off campus and you click on Get It@UML you will be asked to login with your UMnet ID and Password. Please refer to the video on "Your Library Account".