Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Health Sciences Resident Help - All Text: Common Health Sciences Research Tools

Prefer video content? Click here for the video help area.

Key Databases

Using UpToDate - UofM Members

PubMed - Finding Specific Articles

PubMed Filters

Scopus - Accessing Articles

Scopus - Finding Related Articles

Health Databases
A-Z

Using UpToDate - U of M faculty, staff and students

This tutorial is for faculty, staff and students of the University of Manitoba and will show you how to access UpToDate and create an account to use the UpToDate app. UpToDate is used by clinicians and non-clinicians in the delivery of healthcare.  It includes more than 10,000 topics covering general internal medicine and more than 20 specialities; a select drug database; patient education topics; and a number of medical calculators.

To access UpToDate visit the University of Manitoba Libraries home page at: http://umanitoba.ca/libraries

Click on the Databases A-Z listing.

There are over 500 databases at the University of Manitoba.  To find UpToDate, type the title of the database into the “Find Databases by Title” box and click the “Go” button.

 Remember UpToDate is all one word.

Click on the title “UpToDate” to access it.

Login to UpToDate with your UMNetID and password.  This the same login that you would use for your University of Manitoba email or jUMp.

You may now begin using UpToDate. 

 To use the UpToDate app on your mobile device or to track CME credits you must first register for a free account with UpToDate. Click on “Register”.

Fill in the required information under “Register (New User)” and create a username and password you will remember. Once you are done click “Submit Registration”.

An email will be sent to you with instructions on how do download the UpToDate app. Remember that you will be asked to sign in to UpToDate every 90 days from a desktop computer to renew your account with UpToDate. This is important if you wish to continue to use the UpToDate app.

If you have any questions about using UpToDate please contact your nearest Health Sciences Library.

PubMed - Finding Specific Articles

You can access the PubMed Single Citation Matcher through the University of Manitoba Libraries.

Although PubMed Single Citation Matcher is freely available on the Web, it’s important you access it through the UofM webpage in order to access the full-text articles.

From the U of M Libraries homepage, click on the “Databases A-Z” link.

  • Once you’re on the “Databases A-Z” page click on the “P”
  • Scroll down until you see “PubMed Single Citation Matcher”  

Click on the “PubMed Single Citation Matcher”

This is a useful tool for tracking down articles when you have some or all of an article’s citation information.

When entering citation information, enter as much information as you have about the article you’re looking for. This will increase the likelihood of pulling up the correct article right away.

The Single Citation Matcher will recommend auto-fill options in a drop down box below where you’re typing.

So for example, enter into the appropriate boxes:

  • Journal “The New England Journal of Medicine”
  • Year “2012”
  • Title “The Past 200 Years in Diabetes”
  • Then click “Search”

Now that you have found the article in PubMed, to access the full-text of the article click on the yellow “GetIt@UML” button.

For more information watch the “Get It @ UML” video.