Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

College of Medicine Archives: About

 

About the Archives

Policy and Procedure | Mandate | Location| Records Management

 

Policies and Procedures

The Faculty of Medicine Archives adheres to the following policies, procedures and standards:

Access and Privacy
The Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (Manitoba)
The Personal Health Information Act (Manitoba)


Records Management
University of Manitoba Records Management


Archival Description Standards
General International Standard Archival Description (ISAD – G)
International Standard Archival Authority Record for Corporate Bodies, Persons and Families (ISAAR – CPF)
International Standard for Describing Functions (ISDF)


Digital Records Standards
Encoded Archival Description (EAD)
Open Archives Initiative – Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH)
Open Archival Information System (OAIS) Reference Model


Other Standards
Extensible Hyper Text Markup Language (XHTML)
Secure File Transfer Protocol (SFTP)

 

__________

Mandate

The College of Medicine Archives is located in Room 348 of the Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library. Established in 1974, the Archives seek to document the primary functions and activities performed by the Faculty of Medicine in the areas of medical education, medical research and the provision of health care in Manitoba. The Archives also strives to preserve and facilitate access to the rich heritage of the Faculty of Medicine through its representation in a number of documentary forms and collections.

The College of Medicine Archives contains textual, photographic, multimedia and digital records thoroughly documenting the history of medicine and medical education in Manitoba from 1883 to the present. Our archival holdings contain information on topics such as medicine in the First and Second World Wars, epidemics in Manitoba, the evolution of public health, the treatment of disease, and the provision of health care in Northern communities, among many others.

Open Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Closed on major statutory holidays and during the December Holiday Break

 

__________

Location

The College of Medicine Archives is located in Room 348 on the second floor of the Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library in the Brodie Centre, Bannatyne Campus, University of Manitoba.

View a University of Manitoba Bannatyne Campus map for parking locations.

Records Management

What are "Records Management Liaising Services"?

Let the professional staff of the Faculty of Medicine Archives assist you with your department or program's records management needs. 

In conjunction with the University of Manitoba Records Management office, the Faculty of Medicine Archives will:

  • Locate the appropriate retention and final disposition criteria for your records (Records Authority Scheduling). 
  • Assist in drafting effective Records Authority Schedules when no such scheduling exists.
  • Assist you with the transfer and/or destruction of your records according to formalized procedures. 

All departments and programs in the University of Manitoba, Faculty of Medicine are eligible for records management liaising services. 

How do I access Records Management Liaising Services?

Email: Nicole.Courrier@umanitoba.ca 

Records Management Forms and Links

Access & Privacy Coordinator's Office 

U of M Common Records Schedule 

FIPPA 

PHIA