Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below are key resources to help you find information for your elevator pitch, project presentation, and tradeshow assignments. If you require assistance, please contact the Business Librarian.
Click the links below to jump to sections:
Industry Classification Codes
Determining an industry designation or classification code can be helpful to get a sense of your industry. Many business databases allow searching by classification codes. The codes also provide useful descriptions of industries and sub-industries as well as ideas for search terms.
The most commonly used industry classification system in Canada and the U.S. is the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). The system is hierarchical, organized by broad industry categories, each divided into more specific industries.
The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) , although replaced by the NAICS in 1997, is still useful for identifying companies within a specific industry and is also used by a number of licensed databases and print reference material. The SIC codes group companies based on their primary activity, whether a good or service.
Note: If you are researching a very specific or newer industry, it may not be included in these industry classification systems. Please consult the Business Librarian for assistance.
Key resources for locating industry analysis
Please note: This resource will be unavailable during scheduled maintenance at the publisher's website: Saturday , October 24th, 9:00 pm - 10:00 pm (CDT). My Research and Citations will be unavailable during this time.
Please note: Users can create a "My Research" account to save searches, documents, and citations (up to 4000). Citations can be exported up to 1000 at a time.
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier
Contains full text articles from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, etc.
Contains niche U.S. and Canadian industry profiles, including:
-industry outlook and forecasted growth
-market share concentration of key players
Simultaneous user limit: 5
Provides reports on the world’s 25 largest industries that include market trends and outlook by region, e.g. North America.
Access industry reports by clicking "Industry Analysis" tab. Search by industry, region, and date range.
Provides B2C industry information by country, including:
-market size and projected growth in a specific country/region
-company and brand shares
Key resources for locating company information & competitive analysis
Business Source Premier
For detailed company profiles, from homepage, click "Company Profiles." Enter company name in search box then hit "Browse." Select PDF for current Marketline company profile report, SWOT analysis usually included.
Simultaneous user limit: 5
For public company information, including company details, key executives, financials, and filings, enter company name or ticker symbol in the search box then click "Go".
PrivCo The Private Company Financial Database
PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies as well as private M&A deals and funding rounds. Content includes private firm valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and company research.
Key resources for locating consumer/market research
2016 Canadian Census
The Census Program provides a statistical portrait of the country every five years.
Under "Find data", type location name, i.e. “Manitoba” then click search to get the Census Profile. Use drop-down to focus on a specific topic
CANSIM is Statistics Canadas key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.
City of Winnipeg 2016 Census
Profiles are available for:
-The City of Winnipeg, Downtown Winnipeg Zoning By-Law, Inner City, Non-Inner City and Winnipeg Census Metropolitan Area (CMA)
-City Council Wards
-Neighbourhoods (click on the map to get information on the community and neighbourhoods in the area)
Provides consumer spending habits nationally and globally, consumer response to new market trends, products that are emerging and on trend
Head, Social Sciences Division