This is a list of selected resources that fall under Finance. For a full list of business-related resources, go to the Albert D. Cohen Management Library's Resources page. For a full description of the resource, hover over the 'i' icon.
Bank of CanadaThe Bank publishes a variety of periodicals for general and specialist audiences. Bank of Canada Review- A quarterly publication featuring articles related to the Canadian economy and to central banking, with summary statistical tables. FinancialSystem Review- A detailed review of developments in the financial system and an analysis of policy directions in the financial sector. Published twice a year.
Available only at the Albert D. Cohen Management Library - Financial Data Centre. No remote access.
Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC)The Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC) Summary Information Database includes: daily and monthly Toronto Stock Exchange trading information about specific securities; information on price adjustments such as dividends, stock splits, recapitalizations, etc.; information on daily and monthly index levels; as well as selected other financial markets information. The database is divided into two parts: common equities and preferred equities.
Centre for Research in Security Prices - (CRSP)The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP), a financial research center at the Graduate School of Business at The University of Chicago, was established with the commitment to create the finest tools for tracking, measuring, and analyzing data. CRSP maintains the most comprehensive historical data files on the market. The unparalleled accuracy of the data files have made them a staple of academic and commercial research since 1960.
Global Economic MonitorGlobal Economic Monitor is a portal for analysis of current economic trends and for economic and financial indicators. It provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Exchange rates, equity markets, emerging market bond indices, consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade are updated daily.
Government Finance StatisticsGovernment Finance Statistics (GFS) database contains detailed annual statistical data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors as reported by member countries. Subannual GFS are available through the online application relating to International Financial Statistics (IFS).
International Debt StatisticsProduced by the World Bank, IDS focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Includes time series indicators from 1970 - 2016 and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2024.
International Financial StatisticsInternational Financial Statistics is produced by the International Monetary Fund. It includes country tables, world tables, commodity prices and an "economic concept view." Topics covered include: exchange rates, government finance, interest rates, international transactions, money & banking, national accounts, prices and production. Data can be viewed or exported into a variety of formats.
Please note: From June 24 - Aug. 17, 2020, users have trial access to the Sustainability tab (ESG Rating Report).
Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.
PrivCo The Private Company Financial DatabasePrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies as well as private M&A deals and funding rounds. Content includes private firm valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and company research.
TSX eReviewA monthly publication that provides a synopsis on trading activity on the TSX, i.e. most active stocks, largest block trades, etc.