Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click the links below to jump to sections:
Country Profiles and Reports
A to Z WorldBusiness This link opens in a new window
A one-stop guide for international business, offering country overviews on business practices and business culture for nearly 100 countries around the world. Categories covered include country profile, communications, imports, exports, investment climate, money and banking, etc.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit Industry Briefing This link opens in a new window
Industry Briefing provides five-year forecasts and news analysis for six key industries, from telecommunications to consumer goods, along with relevant background information. Industry Briefing covers up to 69 economies that account for more than 95% of world output and trade. The forecasts are based on the latest data and in-depth analysis of sectoral trends.
Offers statistical data for 202 countries globally. Includes history, economy, risk, Forbes 2000 corporations, and political conditions. From homepage, go to "Get globalEDGE Insights Research By", and go to "Country" then select a country and click "Visit Country." Navigate profile using menu on the left.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a collection of reports focusing on country-specific information as well as industry-level analysis.
D&B Manuals: Country Reports (Coverage: 2003-)
Mergent Manuals: Bond Record Collection (Coverage: 2004-)
Mergent Industry Report Collection (Coverage: 2003-)
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed profiles on over 100 countries. Includes an economic overview, key industries, demographic information, etc.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Access limited to: U of M Students, Faculty, and Staff
Euromonitor International database that contains data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. Country-specific information includes country profiles, country briefings, and country and consumer statistics on nearly 80 countries.
Additional Country information - forecasts, macro indicators
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Find country forecasts in ABI/INFORM Complete, which contains the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Finance and Forecast Reports. Once in the database, click the "Browse" link at the top, then select the link to the EIU Country Finance and Forecast Reports under Country Reports. Scroll down and click on the link next to "forecasts." You can filter the results by country on the right under "Narrow results by." Search by keyword within the forecasts by clicking on the "Search within" link. *Additional country reports are available, including the Oxford Analytica Country Profiles.
Africa Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
ADI Online provides a comprehensive collection of data on Africa available. It provides all those interested in Africa with a focused and convenient set of data monitoring development programs and aid flows in the region.
Balance of Payments Statistics This link opens in a new window
Balance of Payments Statistics summarizes, for a specific period, the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world. It reports total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world as well as capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities.
Bank of Canada This link opens in a new window
The Bank publishes a variety of periodicals for general and specialist audiences. Bank of Canada Review- A quarterly publication featuring articles related to the Canadian economy and to central banking, with summary statistical tables. FinancialSystem Review- A detailed review of developments in the financial system and an analysis of policy directions in the financial sector. Published twice a year.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
To access the Political Risk Yearbooks, enter the country name and add the term "political risk yearbook" in the search box. Scroll through the list of results to find the latest issue or change the "Relevance" sort to "Date Newest". Each report assesses potential political, financial, and economic risks to business investments and trade.
China Data Online This link opens in a new window
China Data provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels and includes the following databases:
Monthly Industrial Data
Yearly Industrial Data
Statistics on Map
Global Economic Monitor (World Bank - DataBank)
Provides daily updates of global economic developments for high income and developing countries - covers exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage (updated daily and populated upon availability) is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade.
IMF eLibrary Complete This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new window
Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
Produced by the World Bank, IDS focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Includes time series indicators from 1970 - 2016 and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2024.
World Competitiveness Online This link opens in a new window
IMD World Competitiveness Online is a comprehensive database on the competitiveness of nations. It includes time series from the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook, IMD World Talent Ranking, and the IMD World Digital Competitiveness Ranking.
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
Head, Social Sciences Division