Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click the links below to jump to sections:
Industry and Market research databases and websites
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Locate industry & market research reports. On the home page, click "Browse". Under the heading: "Industry and Market Research", select First Research or BMI. For First Research, browse by industry. Click "View documents" and select appropriate report. For BMI, browse by subject or location. To view listing of reports under each subject, click on '+' icon to expand. Click "View documents" and select appropriate report.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Locate select full-text Marketline and BMI Research industry reports. On the home page, click "Advanced Search". Under Publication Type, select "Industry Profile." Under Limit your results, click the "Full Text" box. Type industry name in search box then click Search.
2016 Canadian Census
The Census Program provides a statistical portrait of the country every five years. The 2016 Census Program includes the Census of Population and the Census of Agriculture. For upcoming release dates, refer to the 2016 Census Program release schedule.
Canadian Industry Statistics: Industry Canada
Canadian Industry Statistics analyzes industry data on many economic indicators using the most recent data from Statistics Canada.
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statisticsCANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics
Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Value-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index® as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. Use patent data to discover the latest technological advances, monitor competitors’ progress, and formulate fresh ideas for research.
University of Manitoba's users have access to the following editions:
Chemical Section (1963-present)
Electrical and Electronic Section (1963-present)
Engineering Section (1963-present)
EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit Industry Briefing This link opens in a new window
Industry Briefing provides five-year forecasts and news analysis for six key industries, from telecommunications to consumer goods, along with relevant background information. Industry Briefing covers up to 69 economies that account for more than 95% of world output and trade. The forecasts are based on the latest data and in-depth analysis of sectoral trends.
Gartner Core IT Research This link opens in a new window
Gartner® is a leading provider of research and analysis on the global information technology (IT) industry. Gartner’s analysts provide in-depth analysis on telecommunications, including hardware, software and systems, services, IT management, market data and forecasts, and vertical industry issues.
Only University of Manitoba faculty, staff, students and researchers with an active UMnetID and @umanitoba.ca or @myumanitoba.ca email address may access this service. Use of this service and content is for educational purposes only.
Please review the Gartner Usage Policy
before using the service.
for more information about Key Features and Benefits and using Gartner IT Research.
Under "Get globalEDGE Insights", select "By Industry".
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides independent research on hundreds of industries in Canada and the U.S. Research reports include statistics, analysis and forecasts. Such industry reports can be used to evaluate market size, draft business plans, pitch books, forecasting and more.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a collection of reports focusing on country-specific information as well as industry-level analysis.
D&B Manuals: Country Reports (Coverage: 2003-)
Mergent Manuals: Bond Record Collection (Coverage: 2004-)
Mergent Industry Report Collection (Coverage: 2003-)
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online provides industry reports on 25 of the largest industries in the world. Access industry reports by clicking "Industry Analysis" tab. Search by industry, region, and date range.
2011 National Household Survey Profile
This voluntary survey replaced the former long-form Census (2006 and earlier). Includes stats on income, occupation, education, mode of transport AND MORE. Enter location and select 2011 NHS Profile.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Contains market research data, i.e. information on consumer buying behaviour, market size, and market share.
Plunkett Research Industry Almanacs This link opens in a new window
Plunkett Research's full list of 2013 almanacs, covering a wide range of industries.
Directory of products and manufacturers in the U.S. and Canada. Search by product, company and brand and by state or province.
Industry Classification Codes
Determining an industry designation or classification code can be helpful to get a sense of your industry. Many business databases allow searching by classification codes. The codes also provide useful descriptions of industries and sub-industries as well as ideas for search terms.
The most commonly used industry classification system in Canada and the U.S. is the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). The system is hierarchical, organized by broad industry categories, each divided into more specific industries.
The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) , although replaced by the NAICS in 1997, is still useful for identifying companies within a specific industry and is also used by a number of licensed databases and print reference material. The SIC codes group companies based on their primary activity, whether a good or service.
Note: If you are researching a very specific or newer industry, it may not be included in these industry classification systems. Please consult the Business Librarian for assistance.
Industry & Trade periodicals
Trade journals and newspapers can be found in the following database aggregators:
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.
CPI.Q This link opens in a new window The Canadian Periodical Index has been a core reference tool for accessing Canadian scholarly and popular periodicals since 1928. The electronic version available on the Articles and Databases menu is published by Gale Research and covers the years 1996, 1997 and 1998. About one third of the articles are full text.
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
Head, Social Sciences Division