Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Library Rules & Information: Reciprocal Borrowing

Manitoban Reciprocal Borrowing

UM faculty, staff and students may register for borrowing privileges at many institutions in Manitoba.

  • Assiniboine Community College
  • Red River College
  • Brandon University
  • Steinbach Bible College
  • Canadian Mennonite University
  • University of Winnipeg
  • Keewatin Community College
  • William and Catherine Booth Bible College
  • Providence College
  • St. Andrew’s College
  • University College of the North

 To borrow at one of the Manitoba institutions listed above UM borrowers must present a valid UM photo ID card.

Travelling Internationally?

UM faculty members visiting universities outside of Canada should consult with their subject specialist librarian to determine what services might be available. 

Canadian Reciprocal Borrowing

UM Libraries participates in the Canadian University Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement (CURBA).  This agreement provides UML students, faculty and staff with free borrowing privileges at participating libraries that are members of the following consortia:

  • COPPUL - Council of Prairie and Pacific University Libraries
  • OCUL - Ontario Council of University Libraries
  • BCI - Bureau de Coopération Interuniversitaire (formerly CREPUQ)
  • CAUL - Council of Atlantic University Libraries

To borrow at another Canadian post-secondary institution UM borrowers must first obtain a COPPUL card with an expiry date available at any UM library service desk. 

Borrowing privileges and regulations vary from institution to institution.  For instance, undergraduates may borrow from most but not all Canadian university libraries.  The University of Toronto Library policy for visiting faculty, staff and students is more restrictive. 

Borrowers From Other Institutions

Borrowers visiting the UM Libraries from another Manitoba institution as listed above, or with a COPPUL card are registered as OA users.  The expiry date will be determined by the unit library but will not exceed one year.  As OA users these borrowers are not entitled to borrow from reserve collections although individual units may use their discretion. For help and services available to visiting academics, please click here.

Individuals presenting themselves without any association as described above, including those from universities or other academic institutions, are not entitled to loan privileges but may use resources on site.