It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More
UM Libraries are closed due to Provincial COVID restrictions.
Physical materials can be requested for contactless pickup at the pickup lockers at Elizabeth Dafoe Library (Fort Garry Campus) and Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library (only accessible for Bannatyne campus students, staff, and faculty who have swipe card access).
Article-Level Metrics measure the "impact" or "reach" of an article in scholarly discourse. Whereas the well-known Impact Factor measures citations at a journal level, article-level metrics aim to measure the impact of individual articles. The best known article-level metric is the number of times an article has been cited. Other article metrics include:
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN), a repository of social science articles, counts article downloads and provides lists of top articles, authors, and institutions based on the download counts.
Citation tracking, or citation analysis, is an important tool used to trace scholarly research, measure impact, and inform tenure and funding decisions. The impact of an article is evaluated by counting the number of times an article is cited in others' work. Researchers do citation analysis for several reasons:
find out how much impact a particular article has had, by showing which other authors have cited the article in their own paper
find out how much impact a particular author has had by looking at the frequency and number of his/her total citations
discover more about the development of a field or topic (by reading the papers that cite a seminal work in that area)
The output from citation studies is often the only way that non-specialists in governments and funding agencies, or even those in different scientific disciplines, can judge the importance of a piece of scientific research.
Article Metrics Explained
Here is a video by Taylor and Francis Group explaining what article-level metrics are and why they are important to researchers.
Web of Science is a comprehensive database that allows the user to not only see how many times an article has been cited in total, but also how any times it has been cited in the last 180 days.
Perform a search
Look at the right side of the search results, there you will see "Times Cited" and "Usage Count."
Times Cited is the total times the article has been cited.
Click on Usage Count, it will display how many times the article has been cited in the last 180 days and since 2013.
Scopus provides the user with the number of times an article has been cited in the right hand column of the search results. Currently only works from 1996 to present are covered.
Perform a search
Look at the right side of the search results, the number is the times that article has been cited, according to Scopus' records.
Scroll over the number and click the link to reveal the works that cited that article.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a nonprofit publisher that has spearheaded article metrics, allowing the user a broader range of metrics to inspect.
Perform a search
Under each search result there are four metrics listed:
Views - How many times the article has been viewed
Citations - How many times the article has been cited
Saves - How many times the article has been saved by users with PLoS accounts
Shares - How many times the article has been shared between PLoS account holders
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a network that is focused on the dissemination of social science research. They employ a number of article metrics.
Perform a search
In each search result is listed the total number of downloads
Upon clicking on an article, in the top right of the screen is more metrics on each paper, including:
Abstract Views - How many times the article's abstract has been viewed
Downloads - How many times the article has been downloaded
Download Rank - The articles rank among all other articles in the database, based on the number of downloads
Citations - How many other papers have cited this article
SSRN also offers a Top Papers page, to promote the top downloaded and cited articles in the database.
Google Scholar offers a vast breadth of research papers, some of which can be accessed thorough the University of Manitoba's "Get it@UML" button (access it through the link provided and that feature will work). Scholar offers its own article metrics.
Perform a search
Under each search result, there is listed the number of times the article has been cited according to Google
Also, Scholar includes the number of times cited in Web of Science, if available
Another useful aspect of Scholar is the Related Articles link, which allows the user to view articles with similar keywords and tags
Please note: IET Electronic Library (IEL) is now available under IET Journals.
The IEEE provides access to the full text of ejournals, ebooks, conference proceedings, and technical standards of: the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers). Subject areas include electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, bioengineering, and communication technologies, among other growing areas of research.
MathSciNet, maintained by the American Mathematical Society, is a Web-based index to the mathematics literature. Coverage includes reviews and abstracts from Mathematical Reviews (updated monthly) from 1940 to the present, and Current Mathematical Publications (updated daily).
This database is published by the American Psychological Association and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more.
Please note: Users can create a "My Research" account to save searches, documents, and citations (up to 4000). Citations can be exported up to 1000 at a time.
Coverage: 1952 - present
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from serial publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Reviews and recommendations of articles are valuable to scholars. Some journals (like Computing Reviews) offer reviews of articles that appear in other journals. Journal clubs are popular because they allow a group to discuss an article in-depth. New social media networking tools allow readers to comment upon and rank articles.
PeerPub is a database of comments on articles. Users can find or introduce articles to the database, and share their comments on those articles.
Other publishers that allow users to comment and rate articles: