The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Call Number: Mss 70, Pc 81, Tc 51, El 49 (A.86-24, A.86-25, A.86-27, A.86-29, A.86-32, A.86-37, A.86-40, A.86-43, A.88-12, A.98-68, A.06-52, A.06-96)
Title: John Newlove fonds.
Dates: 1954-2002.
Extent: 7.34 m of textual records and other material.
Biographical sketch: Born in Regina in 1938, John Newlove was raised in various small Saskatchewan towns, mainly Kamsack. He attended the University of Saskatchewan for one year before embarking on an extensive tour around Canada. Prior to this, he had worked briefly as a high school teacher in Birtle, Manitoba, as a social worker in Yorkton, Saskatchewan, in radio in Weyburn and Regina, and in various labouring jobs in British Columbia and Saskatchewan. Between 1970 and 1980, he occupied the position of editor at McClelland and Stewart in Toronto and writer-in-residence at various universities including Loyola College Montreal and the University of Toronto. Newlove also taught for a year at David Thompson University Centre, B.C. in 1982. After 1986, he worked for the federal government in Ottawa. He won the Governor General's award for poetry in 1972, the Saskatchewan Writers' Guild Founders Award in 1984, and the Literary Press Group Award in 1986. His poetry has been published in journals, magazines and literary anthologies in Canada and the United States and in several countries abroad. Newlove's poetry was most popular in the 1960s and 1970s when he and Eli Mandel were considered to be among the dominant voices of Canadian prairie poetry. John Newlove died in Ottawa on December 23, 2003 at the age of 65.
Custodial history: The fonds was donated to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by John Newlove in ten different accessions between 1986 and 1998. The 2006 accession (A.06-52) was donated by his wife, Susan Newlove. A compilation of photographs and video (A.06-96) were digitized and used in a documentary by Robert McTavish in 2006, which was subsequently donated to Archives & Special Collections.
Scope and content: The fonds consists of biographical material, manuscript material including correspondence, literary manuscripts, edited revisions, books, journals, anthologies and reviews. The correspondence includes substantial communications between Newlove and other writers such as Earle Birney, Irving Layton, Al Purdy, John Metcalf, Alden Nowlan, Barney Childs, Patrick Lane, and others. Of his twelve publications, this collection contains literary manuscripts of nine of them along with the related correspondence. Typescripts of publications included are Grave Sirs (1962), Moving in Alone(1965), The Cave (1968), Lies (1972), and The Night the Dog Smiled (1986). The 2006 accession consists of his correspondence, poetry, notebooks, daily books, publications, and photographs. The photograph collection consists of 146 photographs, 4 drawings, 1 slide, 271 negatives, 1 videocassette, and 1 DVD. The tape collection consists of 11 audio cassettes. In 2006, a selected number of photographs and video of John Newlove were digitized and compiled onto a compact disc (EL 49).
Restrictions: Some folders have been restricted. Contact the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections for further information.
Finding aid: Printed finding aids are available in the Archives & Special Collections reading room and on-line finding aids are available at the links below:
MSS 70, EL 49 (A.06-52, A.06-96).
We greatly acknowledge the financial support of the Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism and the Heritage Grants Advisory Council in the creation of this finding aid.