Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

John Newlove fonds: MSS 70, PC 81 (A.98-68)

John Newlove:

An Inventory of his papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Bryan Bance
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
208 Elizabeth Dafoe Library Winnipeg, Manitoba  R3T 2N2
(December 2007)

Finding aid encoded by Bryan Bance & Robert Ross (December 2007, February 2008)
Finding aid written in English.



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
208 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
 
Creator:
John Newlove
 
Title:
John Newlove fonds
 
Dates:
1962-2000
 
Quantity:
3 m. of textual material, 0.1 m of photographs
 
Language:
English

Return to Top


Biography of Biography of John Newlove

John Newlove was born in Regina on June 13, 1938. His father, Thomas Harold Newlove, was a lawyer and his mother, Mary Constant (Monteith) Newlove, was a teacher. John Newlove grew up in a number of small towns in Saskatchewan, including Ituna, Yellowgrass, Lloydminster, Grenfell, Veregin, and from 1949 to 1956, in Kamsack. He graduated from the Kamsack Collegiate Institute in 1956 and spent the following year at the University of Saskatchewan.

While enrolled at university John Newlove began writing poetry and he continued his writing while employed at a variety of jobs. He worked as a high school teacher in Birtle, Manitoba, a social worker in Yorkton and in radio in Weyburn, Regina, and Swift Current. He also held numerous jobs in British Columbia and on the Prairies.

From 1960 to 1967 he lived in Vancouver from which he made many hitch-hiking trips to the prairies, Toronto, Montreal, and Chicago. He was married in 1966 to Susan Mary Phillips and had two step-children, Jeremy and Tamsin. He spent most of 1967 in eastern California and Portugese Cove, Halifax, and Wolfville, Nova Scotia. He lived in Prince George and Terrace, British Columbia, until 1970, when he moved to Toronto. The following years were spent in Quebec, Ontario and Saskatchewan in writer-in-residence appointments. In 1982 he moved to Nelson, British Columbia, and taught at the David Thompson University Centre. He lived in Ottawa in his later years.

John Newlove was the senior trade editor for McClelland and Stewart from 1970 to 1974, where he was involved in editing, budget, design and production control. He edited a variety of books, including verse, fiction, non-fiction, picture books and calendars. Books of verse by Ralph Gustafson and F.R. Scott and a novel by Rudy Weibe edited by John Newlove received Governor General Awards.

He has also consulted and/or edited on a freelance basis for McClelland and Stewart, Jonathon Jones Books, Hurtig Publishers, Thistledown Press, the Governor General's Awards Committee, the Canada Council, the Manitoba Arts Council and the Saskatchewan Arts Board.

He was the writer-in-residence at Loyola College, Montreal (1974-1975), where he consulted with students and taught two credit classes in Creative Writing. In the summer of 1975 he worked as a writer in the Communications Branch of the Office of the Prime Minister. He was the writer-in-residence at the University of Western Ontario (1975-1976), Massey College, University of Toronto, (1976-1977) and the Regina Public Library (1979-1980). All of these residencies included personal consultations, seminars, workshops, public and private readings and lectures.

From 1982-1983 he was an instructor at the David Thompson University Centre giving creative writing workshops for first, second and third year students. John Newlove also read and lectured at many universities, and literary societies throughout North America. As a freelance editor, writer, researcher in Ottawa, he did extensive work for the Office of the Commissioners of Official Languages and contracted with the Complaints Commission of the RCMP, the National Library and the Debates Branch of the Senate.

John Newlove received a Koerner Foundation Grant (1964), several Canada Council grants, the Governor General's Award (1972), The Founder's Award of the Saskatchewan Writers' Guild in 1984, the Literary Press Group Award (1988) and the Archibald Lampman Award (1993).

His poems have been published in numerous magazines and anthologies in Canada, the United States, Mexico, Chile, England, France, Belgium, Germany, Romania, India, Australia, Italy, the former Yugoslavia and Hungary.

John Newlove had thirteen chapbooks and published books: Grave Sirs (Vancouver: Robert Reid and Takao Tanabe, 1962); Elephants, Mothers & Others (Vancouver: Periwinkle Press, 1963. 31 pp.); Moving in Alone (Toronto: Contact, 1965. 83 pp.) 2nd edition (Lantzvelle, British Columbia: Oolichan Books, 1977. 88 pp.); Notebook Pages (Portfolio, Toronto: Charles Pachter, 1966); What They Say (Kitchener: Weed/Flower, 1967. 23 pp.) 2nd printing, 1968; Black Night Window (Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1968. 112 pp.); The Cave (Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1970. 85 pp.); 7 Disaster, 3 Theses, and Welcome Home, Click . (Vancouver: Very Stone House, 1971); Lies (Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1973. 96 pp.); The Fat Man: Selected Poems, 1962-1972 (Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1971. 127 pp.); Canadian Poetry: The Modern Era (Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1977). editor & contributor; The Green Plain (Lantzville, British Columbia: Oolichan Books, 1981); and The Night the Dog Smiled (Toronto: ECW Press, 1986. 78 pp.)

Newlove's poetry was most popular in the 1960s and 1970s when he and Eli Mandel were considered to be among the dominant voices of Canadian prairie poetry. John Newlove died suddenly in Ottawa on December 23, 2003. He was 65.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds has been arranged into 7 series. They include: Biographical Materials, Journals, Books, Anthologies, Literary Career, and Correspondence. The fonds also includes a photograph collection consisting of 84 photographs, 4 drawings, 1 slide and 271 negatives.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on access

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on use.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIALS 1971-2000
 
Box Folder  
1 1 The Newlove Family Tree 1971
  2 Biographical sketch from the League of Canadian Poets 1980
  3 Resumes 1983-1997
  4 A History of the Monteiths (Newlove's maternal family) 1984
  5 The Annotated Bibliography of Canada's Major Authors. Volume Six 1985
Box Folder  
2 1 Passports, business cards, and membership cards 1985-1998
  2 Biographical sketches by "Canadian Who's Who" 1987-1998
  3 Biographical sketches by various publishers 1987-1998
  4 Biographical sketch from "Who's Who in the League of Canadian Poets 1988
  5 Various certificates 1992-1994
  6 Inventory of Newlove's music collection ca.1995
  7 Newlove's music and video inventory ca. 1998
  8 List of contacts and addresses compiled by Newlove ca. 1998
  9 Inventory of Newlove's financial accounts and membership numbers ca.1998
  10 Inventory of Newlove's book, coins and antiquities, and computer programs ca. 1998
  11 Inventory of Newlove's book collection ca. 1998

Return to Top


JOURNALS 1985-1998
Box Folder  
3 1 Journal 1985
  2 Journal 1986
  3 Journal 1987
  4 Journal 1988
Box Folder  
4 1 Journal 1989
  2 Journal 1990-1991
  3 Day Planners 1990-1992
  4 Journals 1991-1993
  5 Journals 1993-1994
  6 Journals 1994-1998

Return to Top


BOOKS 1968-1993
Box Folder  
5 1 Moving in Alone 1965
  2 Black Night Window 1968
  3 The Cave 1970
  4 Lies 1972
  5 Moving in Alone 1977
  6 Dreams Surround Us: Fiction and Poetry by John Metcalf and John Newlove 1977
  7 The Green Plain 1981
  8 The Night the Dog Smiled 1986
  9 Apology for Absence 1993

Return to Top


ANTHOLOGIES 1963-1998
Box Folder  
6 1 Poetry 64 edited by Jacques Godbout and John Robert Colombo, p.88-97 1963
  2 72 New Canadian Stories edited by david Helwig and Joan Harcourt, p.38-44 1997-1998
  3 Quarry Vol. 22, No.4, p.28-34 1973
  4 Jewish Dialog p.5 and 9 1975
  5 Ellipse 10 Poems and commentary about Newlove by Margaret Atwood in French, p.70-118 1977
  6 Waves Vol.5, No.2-3, p.112-114 1977
  7 The Headless Angel edited by Ed Jewinski, p.7 1977
  8 Event: Journal of Contemporary Arts Vol.6, No.2, p.24-31 1978
  9 Fort Sanity VI p.68 1980
  10 Island 10 p.39-41 1981
  11 Island 11 p.37 1982
  12 Essays on Canadian Writing, interview with Newlove on p. 135-156 1982
  13 Grain Vol.X, No.3, p.5-6. 1982
  14 Island Vol.13/14, p.88-89 1983-1984
  15 Windscript p.23 1983
  16 Zest No.11, p.3 1983
  17 Zest No.12, p.3 1983
  18 Zest No. 14, p.3 1983
  19 Grain Vol.11, No.3, p.4-5 1983
  20 Writing 8 p.20-21 1984
  21 Poetry Agenda Calendar edited by Endre Farkas 1984
Box Folder  
7 1 Canadian Literature No.104, p.23 1985
  2 De Tweede Ronde: Canadees nummer p.204-212 1985
  3 The Capilano Review No.36, p.4-8 1985
  4 Grain p. 54 1986
  5 The Malahat Review No. 77, includes hand drafted notes by Newlove, p.10-15 1986
  6 The Malahat Review No.77, includes hand drafted notes by Newlove, p. 10-15 1986
  7 The Kingfisher Book of Comic Verse edited by Roger McGough, p.210 1986
  8 Arrivals-Canadian Poetry in the Eighties edited by Bruce Meyer, p. 154 1986
  9 Descant 53 Vol. 17, No.2, p. 117-118 1986
  10 A Sudden Reliance: Saskatchewan Poetry edited by Lorna Crozier and Gary Hyland 1987
  11 Verse Vol. 4, No. 1, p. 12 1987
  12 Quarry-General Issue p. 56-58 1987
  13 Grain p. 1 1987
  14 Quarry-Fiction Issue, front page quote by Newlove 1987
Box Folder  
8 1 The Malahat Review No.82, p.76-79 1988
  2 The Macmillan Anthology edited by John Metcal and Leon Rooke, p. 111-119 1988
  3 The Second Macmillan Anthology edited by John Metcalf and Leon Rooke, p. 192-193 1988
  4 Capital Poets: An Ottawa Anthology edited by Colin Morton, p. 74-85 1989
  5 Spiegel vande Engelese poezie uit de gehele wereld p. 328 1989
  6 The Malahat Review No.86, p. 94-95 1989
  7 A Labour of Love-An Anthology of Poetrty on Pregnancy and Childbirth edited by Mona Fertig, p. 17-18 1989
  8 Singularities edited by Geoff Hancock, p. 139-143 1990
  9 La Verde Piana Italina translation of "The Green Plain" by Carla Comellini 1990
  10 Grain p.68 1990
  11 Quarry-Fortieth Anniversary Issue p. 129 1991
  12 Antologia n.4 p. 20 1991
  13 Poetry Alive: Perspectives edited by Don Saliani, p. 104 1991
  14 Loon Lake Reflections and Meditations edited by R. Allen Dodson and John Matthew Shinn, p. 22 1991
Box Folder  
9 1 Lives and Works interviews by Bruce Meyer and Brian O'Riordan, p. 82-89 1992
  2 Inscriptions: A Prairie Poetery Anthology edited by Dennis Cooley, p. 217-239 1992
  3 Canadian Ethnic Studies edited by Anthony Raspoich et al., p.196 1996
  4 Canadian Literature No. 144, p. 97 1995
  5 The Malahat Review No. 114, p. 33 1996
  6 Uncommon Wealth: An Anthology of Poetry in English edited by Neil Bosner et al., p. 589-591 1997
  7 Gorillas on the Dance Floor and Other Poems from the First 100 PGIs- Penned by the Petro-Canada Laureates of the Peter Gzowski Invitational Golf Tournaments for Literacy p. 111-112 1997
  8 Written in the Skin-A Poetic Response to Aids edited by Rob McLennan, p. 90 1998

Return to Top


LITERARY CAREER 1964-1998
Box Folder  
10 1 The Collected Poems of Earle Birney 1975
  2 Canadian Poetry-The Modern Era 1977
  3 Language and Society, No. 19 1987
  4 Language and Society, No. 23 1988
  5 Canada Made Me by Norman Levine 1993
Box Folder  
11 1 Selected poems by Earle Birney- edited by Newlove. includes correspondence. ca.1969-1978
  2 Copy editing by Newlove of Birney's Selected Poems 1977
  3 Newlove's edits of Birney's Fall by Fury 1978
  4 Newlove's copy editing of Fall by Fury and Other Markings by Earle Birney 1978
Box Folder  
12 1 Table of content edits of Frank R. Scott's Collected poems ca.1981
  2 Editing of Silk Trail 1985
  3 Short stories by Charles Haines edited by Newlove 1987
  4 Comments by Newlove on Poems by Patrick Lane 1989
  5 Edits by Newlove of The Guest Touches Only Those Who Prepare by Edward Gates 1990
  6 Correspondence and commentary relating to Burning Store by Zoe Landale. Includes manuscript and book. 1994-1995
  7 Comments by Newlove regarding written test for writer/editor position 1998
Box Folder  
13 1 The Several Masks of John Newlove: A Study of the Confressional and Non-Confessional Poetic Stances of John Newlove by Mary Rebecca Gould 1975
  2 Everyone Leans, Each On each Other: Words for John newlove on His Fiftieth Birthday 1988
  3 Replacing - p. 256-280. edited by Dennis Cooley 1980
  4 John Newlove and His Works by Douglas Barbour 1980
  5 Essays on Canadian Writing, No.2. p. 9-53. 1975
  6 Grain, Vol.XIV, No.2. p. 5, 56. 1986
  7 The Capilano Review, No.32 1983
  8 Writers News, Volume II, No.1 1979
Box Folder  
14 1 Drafts and photocopies of poems. 1964-1993
  2 Drafts of essays. 1968-1989
  3 Drafts of poems- no titles. ca.1970-1986
  4 Short stories ca.1970-1980
  5 Published poems. 1971-1994
  6 Poems and writing excerpts, includes drafts. 1981-1998
  7 Draft Quatrains. ca.1986
  8 Uncorrected proof of Winner Take All ca. 1991
  9 Drafts of two poems for Leonard Cohen tribute. Includes correspondence. 1993
  10 Draft with edits of Apology of Absence-Selected Poems 1993
Box Folder  
15 1 Miscellaneous notes and research materials. 1965-1998
  2 Royalty statements from published works. Includes correspondence. 1980-1995
  3 List of writing references. ca. 1985-1995
  4 Royalty statements from Public Lending Right Commission. 1986-1998.
  5 Research materials-Lexicon. ca. 1990
  6 Collection of literary quotes. ca.1994
Box Folder  
16 1 Books in Canada, Vol. 12, No.2. p.27. 1983
  2 The Porcupine's Quill, p.2-3. Includes hand drafted comments by Newlove. 1993
  3 The Porcupine's Quill, p.14. 1996
  4 Brick-A Journal of Reviews, p.5. 1982
  5 The Literary Press Group, p.4. 1982
  6 The Literary Press Group Catalogue, p.182. 1982
  7 The Poetry review-Journal of Canadian Poetry, Vol.3, p.80. 1986
  8 Essays on Canadian Writing, No.36, p.95-109. 1988
  9 The Antigonish Review 95, p.125-130. 1993
  10 Quarry 27/2, p.82-84. 1978
  11 The Rideau Review, No.2, p.47-48. 1987
  12 Quarry 27/1, p.73-74. 1978
  13 Canadian Literature, No.99, p.120-121.No.75, p.127. 1983
  14 The Malahat Review, No.75, p.127. 1986
  15 Rubicon, No.9, p.199-200. Includes notes by Newlove. 1987
  16 Brick 19, p.41-42. 1983
  17 Saturday Night, p.61. 1982
  18 Camrose Review, No.1, p.44. 1981
Box Folder  
17 1 Articles, references to, and commentary about Newlove. 1969-1995
  2 Announcements and references to Newlove and his poetry. 1972-1998
  3 Reviews of Newlove's work. Includes correspondence. 1980-1993
  4 Literary reviews by Newlove. ca. 1985-1987
  5 Reviews and commentary about Newlove and his work. 1988-1996

Return to Top


 

CORRESPONDENCE 1966-1998
Box Folder  
17 8 Nelson Ball (Weed/flower Press) 1966-1984
  7 John Taggart 1966-1967
  8 Arthur (A.G.) Smith 1966-1967
  9 Bobby Byrd 1966-1998
  10 Carlos Reyes 1966-1967
  11 John Gill 1966
  12 Irving Layton 1966-1989
  13 Margaret Atwood 1966-1995
  14 Michael Ondaatje 1966-1067
  15 Charles Pachter 1966-1967
  16 Miscellaneous correspondence 1966-1986
  17 George Bowering 1967-1991
  18 Lee Harwood 1967
  19 Ralph Gustafson 1967
  20 Anselm Hollo 1967
  21 Harbourfront Reading Series 1968
  22 Newlove's mother n.d.
  23 Miscellaneous correspondence n.d.
Box Folder  
18 1 Frank R. Scott 1972-1981
  2 Personalized Chapbooks and reading announcements by various poets. 1972-1993
  3 Susan Newlove 1976-1998
  4 Peter Milroy 1979-1991
  5 Foster Parents Plan. Includes photographs. 1979-1998
  6 John Metcalf. Includes related newsclippings. 1979-1998
  7 Barry McKinnon 1979-1995
  8 The Canada Council 1980-1991
  9 The League of Canadian Poets. Includes a photograph. 1981-1988
  10 Patrick Lane 1982-1998
  11 Michael Keefers 1982-1985
  12 Al Moritz 1982-1985
  13 Correspondence relating to requests fro Newlove to participate in literary readings, workshops, and lectures. 1982-1992
  14 Health and Insurance 1983-1998
  15 Saskatchewan Writers Guild 1983-1995
  16 Art catalogue sent by Pierre Coupey 1983
  17 Harry Hill 1984-1994
Box Folder  
19 1 Correspondence with various literary organizations. 1985-1998
  2 Jeremy Gilbert 1985-1998
  3 Greg Cook 1985-1994
  4 Job inquiries and responses. Includes C.V. 1985-1998
  5 Grain 1985-1990
  6 The Council of Canadians 1985-1987
  7 Correspondence regarding permission to use Newlove's poems. 1986-1997
  8 Correspondence relating to Newlove's work with the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL),Government of Canada. Includes samples of work. 1986-1989
  9 Robert Bringhurst 1986-1989
  10 Jack McClelland 1986-1987
  11 W.M. Hoffer 1986-1987
  12 Earle Birney 1986
  13 Sid Marty 1986-1996
  14 George Johnston 1986-1991
  15 Colin Morton 1986-1994
  16 Ken Norris 1986-1997
  17 Rienzi Crusz 1986-1991
  18 Hazelle Bergstrom 1986-1987
  19 Peter Cummings 1986-1987
  20 Connie Rooke 1986-1988
Box Folder  
20 1 Brian Fisher 1986-1998
  2 Joe Rosenblatt 1986-1998
  3 Mike Estok 1986
  4 Invitations to literary events. 1986-1995
  5 Archeveche de Sherbrooke 1986
  6 Correspondence concerning literary awards. 1986-1995
  7 Richard Bennett and the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections 1986-1998
  8 Caroline Heath 1986-1990
  9 A.W. Purdy. Includes Chapbook. 1986-1994
  10 Farley Mowat 1986
  11 Eli Mandel 1986
  12 ECW Press 1986-1997
  13 McClelland and Stewart Publishers 1986-1996
  14 The Quarry Press 1986-1991
  15 Correspondence with students 1986-1995
  16 Allan Safarik 1986-1995
  17 Barney Childs 1986-1994
  18 Glen Sorestad 1986-1998
  19 Miscellaneous correspondence relating to Newlove's book, map, music, and coin collections. 1986-1989
  20 Correspondence pertaining to Newlove reviewing Margaret Atwood's Selected Poems 1987
  21 Newlove's response to editing The Big Life Painting by Ron Charach 1987
  22 Correspondence relating to Newlove's role as Juror for various literary selection committees 1987-1995
  23 Tim Struthers 1987-1988
  24 Svend Robinson 1987
  25 Cancopy 1987-1996
  26 Hugh Hood 1987-1992
  27 Les Editions du Ble 1987
Box Folder  
21 1 League of Canadian Poets. Includes newsletters. 1987-1988
  2 Miscellaneous correspondence 1987-1989
  3 Various contracts between Newlove and the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages 1987-1997
  4 Correspondence with newspapers, magazines, and listservs 1987-1998
  5 Leon Rooke 1988
  6 Wayne State University Press 1988
  7 Correspondence regarding appointment of Michael harris as Writer in Residence 1988-1989
  8 Hakluyt Society 1988-1994
  9 Society for the History of Discoveries 1989-1991
  10 Tamsin Gilbert and family 1989-1997
  11 Zoe Landale 1989-1995
  12 Carla Comellini 1989-1996
  13 Festival of the/des Arts 1989
  14 Various correspondence relating to Newlove's book, map, music, and coin collections 1990-1994
Box Folder  
22 1 Miscellaneous correspondence 1990-1998
  2 Correspondence relating to newlove's work with the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages 1990-1994
  3 Paul Wolf 1990-1998
  4 Festival franco-anglais de poesie 1990
  5 Bulletin of the Asia Institute. Includes newsletter. 1990-1991
  6 Ontario Arts Council 1990
  7 Ed and Judi Jewinsky 1990-1998
  8 The Champlain Society 1991-1997
  9 Oolichan Books 1992-1993
  10 Turnstone press 1992
  11 Le Groupe Ville-Marie Literarature 1992-1993
  12 Writer's Union of Canada 1993-1994
  13 Susan Musgrave 1993-1994
  14 Endre Farkas 1993-1997
  15 Malaspina College 1993-1998
  16 Rob Mclennan 1993-1998
  17 Allan Rock 1994-1995
  18 The Writers' Union of Canada. Includes newsletters. 1994-1996
Box Folder  
23 1 J. Michael Yates 1994-1998
  2 Correspondence regarding Newlove's book, map, music, and coin collections 1995-1998
  3 Request by Canadian Ethnic Studies Journal for article on Doukhobors 1995
  4 Correspondence relating to Newlove's work with the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages 1995-1998
  5 Summary of e-mail correspondence 1996-1998
  6 Miscellaneous e-mail messages 1996-1998
  7 Sheila Copps 1996
Box Folder  
24 1 Miscellaneous faxes 1997-1998
  2 Robert McTavish 1998
  3 University of manitoba Archives & Special Collections 1998
  4 Copyediting of Rob McLennan manuscript. Includes correspondence. 1998
  5 Janet Hughson 1998
  6 Address and Phone directories ca.1980-1990
  7C Financial and Housekeeping Records-Tax Returns and Banking Statements. RESTRICTED 1984-1998

Return to Top


PHOTOGRAPHS 1962-1995
Box Folder  
1 1 Various photographs of Newlove, including one contact sheet. 1972-1989
  2 Newlove with stepchuldren Jeremy and Tamsin Gilbert 1967
  3 Publicity shots and photographs from various readings. Includes two sketches. 1969-1988
  4 Two sketches by Joe Rosenblatt 1974-1975
  5 Photographs of prints by Ric Gomez 1983
  6 Susan Newlove ca.1974-1990
  7 Various photographs of family, friends, and co-workers ca. 1985-1995
  8 Deer Springs, California 1962-1970
  9

Photographs of friends, family, and home ca. 1970-1995

Slide featuring Moving in Alone from the London Art Museum n.d.

Return to Top