The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Call Number: Mss 24, Pc 18 (A.81-12, A.81-23, A.81-40, A.84-49, A.85-06, A.85-07, A.91-33, A.01-47)
Title: Winnipeg Tribune fonds.
Dates: [ca. 1930s]-1980.
Extent: 243 m of textual records and other material.
Administrative history: The Winnipeg Tribune, one of western Canada's oldest newspapers, was founded in 1890 by L.R. Richardson and D.L. McIntyre who scraped together $7000 to take over the press and premises of the old Winnipeg Sun. Struggling under the restraints of outdated equipment and no telegraph service, the new paper survived and with the aid of Winnipeg's growing population and economic boom fast became a viable alternative to the rival Winnipeg Free Press. While primarily regarded as an independent liberal paper covering local events and personalities, the Tribune also reported on national and international news. After 90 years of operation, the Winnipeg Tribune ceased publication unexpectedly in August of 1980 as a result of negotiations between competing newspaper chains.
Custodial history: The bulk of the fonds was donated to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Thomson Newspapers Ltd. in 1981. Several other accessions were made between 1981 and 2001 by the Winnipeg Free Press and former Tribune employees.
Scope and content: The fonds contains the Tribune research collection (or `morgue' files) as created by the newspaper's staff consisting of personality files and subject folders of clippings from the 1930's to 1980. Many of the subject files have been microfilmed by the Archives for preservation purposes. The microfilm collection totals 167 reels. There are approximately 2,500,000 clippings (a few of the clippings may be from other newspapers such as the Free Press), divided over some 11,000 different subject categories and 60,000 personality folders. Together they provide ready-made collections of people and events in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, and abroad. The collection is also well documented pictorially with over 500,000 photographs and negatives. A typewritten alphabetical index to the Tribune fonds is available.
Restrictions: There are no restrictions on this material.
Accruals: Further accruals are expected.
Finding aid: Printed indexes to the Tribune subject and personality newsclpping collections are available in the Archives reading room. A fully searchabe version of the subject index is also available on-line via the Archives' Winnipeg Tribune website.
Digitized Material
Archives of the Agricultural Experience - Grassroots Gallery
Landmarks, Monuments & Built Heritage of the West
Manitoba Historical Maps' Photostream
Prairie Immigration Experience