LibGuides: Interior Design: Intro: Start Here

Fall 2022 Workshops

IDES 7000 (Abdullaev)

Fall 2021 Workshops

IDES 7190 (Close)

IDES 7000 (Beaverford)

Online Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Simultaneous user limit: 5 Oxford Art Online provides access to Grove Dictionary of Art and Benezit Dictionary of Artists. It includes hundreds of thousands of articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, including images, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is an online reference service that aggregates authoritative reference works for desktop delivery. There are approximately 180 reference titles in Credo Reference, giving a total of 1.7 million entries, fully integrated and cross-linked.

Designers

Contemporary Design: design museum, 1900-today
Call Number: REF NK 1390 M36 2008
Interior Design Atlas
Call Number: REF NK 2110 A8413 2005
Designer's design
Call Number: REF NK 1397 D475 2007

Research Hints

Although interior design programs have been around for several decades now, it is still a relatively new discipline and this is reflected in the academic literature. When searching in library catalogues and databases, use keywords such as interior architecture, interior decoration, in addition to interior design.

Click here for help using the UM Library Search

if you would like to browse the shelves, you will find the books for interior design in the NK 1700-2196 (Interior Decoration) and NK 2200-3496.3 (furniture, rugs, carpets, upholstery, drapery, wallpaper section).

Interior Design Sourcebook
Call Number: Q REF NK 1980 L48 1998

Reference Collection

National Building Code of Canada 2015
A Complete Dictionary of Furniture
Call Number: REF NK 2205 G54 1991
Designing Interiors
Call Number: NK 2110 K45 1992
The Elements of Style
Call Number: REF NA 2850 E44 1996
Encyclopedia of Interior Design
Call Number: REF NK 1165 E48 1997
Interior Design Atlas
Call Number: Q REF NK 2110 A8413 2005
Visual Dictionary of Interior Architecture and Design
Call Number: Q REF NK 1704 C63 2009
The Design Encyclopedia
Call Number: Q REF NK 1370 B93 2004

Librarian

Ashley Huot

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Welcome! I am happy to support you in your research and library use. Connect with me for reference through email or set up a virtual appointment to chat.

431-373-4580
Architecture/Fine Arts Library, 206 Russell Bldg

Subjects: Architecture, City Planning, Classical Studies, Environmental Design, Greek, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Latin

Open Access Books & Textbooks

Design Addict : Megasite for Design

Illustrated History of Furniture

Interior Materiality

Tutorials of Visual Graphic Communication Programs for Interior Design