LibGuides: Accounting: Home

Go To

Click the links below to jump to sections:

Best Bet Databases for Accounting

This is a list of selected resources that fall under Accounting. For a full list of related resources, go to the Resources page.

ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Canadian tax research books, products, and services
Chartered Accountants of Canada (CICA) is pleased to provide students and professors with complimentary access to online tax research databases. Visit CICA’s store for more information on its Canadian tax research books, products, and services @ www.knotia.ca/info/taxsuiteprem
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection
CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection is the online version of the full CPA Canada Handbook (Chartered Professional Accountants Canada).

Deloitte International Tax Guides

EconLIT
EconLIT is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) Search UML Catalogue, International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) for restricted items.

Top Journals in Accounting

This is a selective list of key journals available through the UM Libraries. For additional titles, contact the subject librarian.

Resources for Finding Company Financials

Tools and tips to assist in finding a company's financials:

Bloomberg Professional Service
No remote access via the UM Libraries. Contact the Financial Lab Advisor, Jack (Meng) Jiang (Meng.Jiang@umanitoba.ca) for access and assistance.
more...less...
Use the equity menu to display a list of sub-menus for equity market functions< EQUITY > < GO >. To find the Financial Summary for Johnson & Johnson, enter as an example, JNJ US < EQUITY > CH1 < GO >.

Mergent Online
Please Note: Effective June 30, 2025, this resource will be changing to Mergent Market Atlas. It will continue to be available to University of Manitoba Libraries.
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.

Components include:
- USA Company Database
- International Company Database
PrivCo The Private Company Financial Database
PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies as well as private M&A deals and funding rounds. Content includes private firm valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and company research.

Ask-a-Librarian

Image: White text on blue background with round thought bubbles Text: Ask Us

Liaison Librarian

Donna Sikorsky

Email Me

Subjects: Accounting, Actuarial Studies, Finance, Law, Marketing