The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
The University of Manitoba Libraries use a proxy server to allow access to licenced electronic resources from off-campus. When you choose a resource that needs to be authenticated you'll be asked for your Library ID and PIN. Here's what they are:
Library ID and Password
Your Library ID is your UMNetID and UMNetID password. Contact the IST Help and Solutions Centre if you need assistance with your UMNetID.
Guidelines on how to format citations can be found in the References section of the Instructions to Authors .
Do you need an article or book that is not available at the University of Manitoba Libraries?
You can place a document delivery request and the Libraries will obtain it from another library for you. This is a free service for students and faculty at the U of M.
For more information see the Libraries' Access Materials website (under Request from another institution).
The casebook of forensic detection: how science solved 100 of the world's most baffling crimes.
Convicted by juries, exonerated by science: case studies in the use of DNA evidence...
Murder two: The second casebook of forensic detection.
Encyclopedia of forensic and legal medicine
Encyclopedia of forensic sciences 2nd Ed.
Encyclopedia of forensic sciences 2nd Ed.
Handbook of forensic services [electronic resource] - U.S. Dept. of Justice, FBI
The forensic laboratory handbook [electronic resource] : procedures and practice
Techniques of crime scene investigation [electronic resource]
Selected Keywords for Finding Case Studies
Murder investigation case studies
Forensic sciences case studies
Criminal investigation case studies
Univerity of Manitoba Libraries
Try entering the keywords listed above in the Libraries One Stop Search box or the Library Catalogue.
Winnipeg Public Library
The Winnipeg Public Library also has books on forensic case studies that are not available at the University of Manitoba. You can access their library catalogue at: http://wpl-pac.winnipeg.ca/.
Some databases that can be used to find journal articles in forensics are Scopus and Web of Science which are listed below. You can also try using the NCJRS Abstract (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Database or NCST"s (National Clearninghouse for Science, Technology & the Law) forensic database.
Possible search strategy for the Scopus database:
Search box 1= case or cases
Click on Add Search Field
Search box 2 = report or study or studies or reports
Click on Add Search Field
Search box 3= forensic*
Click on Add Search Field
Search box 4 = enter specific techniques such as fingerprint* or fibre* or fiber*
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly.
Components include:
How to Read Citations
National Forensic Science Technology Center
Check out the Free online training section. The NFSTC also has a free forensic database that can be used to search for journal articles and legal cases as well as other types of documents.
The National Clearinghouse for Science, Technology and the Law (NCSTL) "provides a searchable database of legal, forensic, and technology resources; a reference collection of law, science, and technology material; content-specific bibliographies; national conferences on science, technology, and the law; community acceptance panels; and training for defense counsel who are handling cases involving biological evidence on the applications and limitations of DNA evidence as stated in the President’s DNA Initiative."
You can access the Forensic Database at: http://www.ncstl.org/search/keyword. To check for full text any of the journal articles in this database enter the journal name, volume, issue and page into the University of Manitoba Libraries' Article Linker.
Forensic Science Resources on the Internet
This webliography provides some useful starting points, key forensic science journals, societies, associations and government organizations as well as links to resources for specific subfields in forensic science.
Includes links to famous cases handled by the FBI as well as full text issues of Forensic Science Communications. Use the A-Z Index for quicker access.
Need help with writing papers? Writing Tutors are now available in the Sciences and Technology Library. Book your appointment online.
Scientific English by 