Skip to Main Content

The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

Open Educational Resources: Find

There are many sources of open educational resources, from large repositories to more specialized sites. This page provides an overview of some sources of OERs. Note that some sites also host non-free content, so be sure to check the licensing of specific resources before use. You can also contact your subject librarian for assistance with finding OERs.

See also our Guide to Open Access.

OER Commons
Extensive database of OERs from preschool to postsecondary, across multiple disciplines.
Skills Commons
Focused on materials relevant to workplace training, browsable by industry or credential.
Rebus Community
Canadian library of open textbooks that supports collaboration on OER projects.
Teaching Commons
"The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities."
MERLOT
"The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers."
SOL*R
An initiative of BCcampus to share free online resources created by postsecondary educators.
Community of Online Research Assignments
Library of open research assignments such as essays and literature reviews, as well as a teaching toolkit.

Manitoba Open Textbook Initiative
A partnership of Campus Manitoba and BC Campus to make available 300+ open textbooks, many of which have been reviewed or adopted by faculty members in Manitoba and BC.
BC Open Textbook Collection
In addition to the textbooks from the Open Ed Manitoba collection, this site also has guides and toolkits on creating and adapting OERs.
eCampus Ontario Open Library
The Open Library includes 600 resources, comprising textbooks as well as other resource types like learning modules and video lectures.
Open Textbook Library
A collection of original textbooks in use at higher education institutions. Includes an excellent browse by subject feature.
Directory of Open Access Books
Extensive collection of over 42,000 peer-reviewed titles from global publishers
Open Square
NYU Press’s platform for publishing open access books
OpenStax CNX
Peer-reviewed textbooks for common college-level courses. Also includes high-school texts and (paid) courseware.

GALILEO (University System of Georgia)
"GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials."
OpenMichigan
This site provides learning materials like syllabi and reading lists broken down by specific course title; there are extensive collections related to health.
CUNY
CUNY Academic Works indexes both faculty research and educational resources.
University of Saskatchewan
Collection of textbooks created or adapted by USask faculty.
Oregon State
This collection includes textbooks, courses, and course modules, with an emphasis on life and environmental sciences.
Wisc-Online
In addition to full courses this collection also hosts learning objects like videos and educational games.
Carleton University
Includes modules from Carleton's Certificate in Blended and Online Teaching program as well as a selection of other subjects.

MIT Open Courseware
A pioneer in the OER space, MIT's collection includes over 2400 full courses and course materials.
Boundless
Catalogue of 22 introductory-level courses across a range of disciplines.
SUNY Ready-to-Adopt Courses
These courses are intended to be ready to upload to a course management software.
Open Course Library
"The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts."
Saylor Academy
Catalogue of full courses across disciplines, with strengths in business and professional development.
Open Yale Courses
OYC includes lectures and other materials for courses in humanities, social sciences, and physical and biological sciences.
TU Delft OpenCourseWare
Strengths of this collection include health, energy, sustainability, water, environmental sciences and infrastructure.

OER by Discipline Guide
This guidebook matches available OERs to specific faculties and departments at the University of Manitoba. It's an excellent starting point to find resources for particular disciplines.
Chem Collective
"As a project in the National Science Digital Library (NSDL), the ChemCollective's goals are to support a community of instructors interested in improving chemistry education through interactive and engaging online activities. "
Open Geography Education
Edited and peer-reviewed textbooks in geography
Green Tea Press
Books on computer science and programming
American Institute of Mathematics
Textbooks in this collection have undergone evaluation by the AIM editorial board.
iBiology
A "collection of videos by some of the world’s best scientists, science policy experts and science educators".
Virtual Soil Science Learning Resources
"Virtual Soil Science Learning Resources (VSSLR) group is focused on developing innovative, open access educational resources for a variety of undergraduate and graduate natural resource courses and programs."
American English
Resources for teaching English as an additional language.
Science Forward
"Science Forward is a new type of undergraduate science seminar, helping students to see science as a lens on the world, a way of approaching questions and challenges."
GW Nursing
Interactive multimedia resources for nurse educators
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
22,000 resources for health sciences education
Noba
Psychology textbooks tailored to common course sequences
Writing Commons
Resources in nine topic areas: Composing, Courses, Genre, Information Literacy, Mindset, Research, Rhetoric, Style, and Writing Studies
Advanced Technological Education (ATE) Central
Includes "curriculum, professional development materials, videos and other valuable resources created and collected by the ATE community"
Art History Teaching Resources
"AHTR is home to a constantly evolving and collectively authored online repository of art history teaching content including, but not limited to, lesson plans, video introductions to museums, book reviews, image clusters, and classroom and museum activities".
Applied Math and Science Education Repository
Tailored to community college and introductory-level courses in the mathematics and sciences.
MusOpen
Recordings, sheet music, and music textbooks
MedEdPortal
Peer-reviewed teaching modules that have been evaluated with medical or dental learners.
ACRL/EBSS Open Education Resources for Teacher Education
ACRL/EBSS list of resources relevant to teacher education.
LearnChemE
Chemical engineering

OASIS
"OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records"
Mason OER Metafinder
A federated search engine, this metafinder includes many of the major OER repositories as well as collections of public-domain resources.

PhET
Simulations for physics, chemistry, math, earth science and biology.
OSU Compound Microscope
These videos and simple lab teach students basic use of the microscope.
Open Source Physics
"The OSP Collection provides curriculum resources that engage students in physics, computation, and computer modeling".

HippoCampus
7000 videos across multiple disciplines for students from middle school to postsecondary.
Creative Commons Image Search
A portal for searching images available under a Creative Commons license.
Flickr Commons
Publicly-held photography collections, most from museums and galleries around the world.
NASA
Official NASA photographs available to download and share.
TED Talks
Popular video lectures on a variety of topics
Free Music Archive
This portal allows searching specifically public domain and freely licensed audio files.
Digital Public Library of America
37 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Audio Archive
Includes audiobooks, music, radio programs, and podcasts.
American Society for Microbiology Gallery
"The Gallery is a collection of images, videos, and animations that can be used to enhance lecture or lab presentations. "

Little Cree Books
Storybooks for early Plains Cree readers.
Gateway to Chinese
A set of "free interactive language learning resources for beginning Mandarin Chinese".
Kanji Alive
Web application for learning Japanese kanji. Note that certain graphics and dictionaries on this site are non-free.
Deutsch im Blick
This resource is intended to support a first-year German course.
Procomún
Search portal for OERs in Spanish.
Norwegian Digital Learning Arena
Hokkaido Open Course Ware
Lectures and course materials in Japanese
Storyweaver
A collection of 20,000 storybooks in over 200 languages.
Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning

In addition to OER-specific sources, you can also seek appropriate content using more general search interfaces like Google and YouTube. Both of these sites have an advanced search option that allows you to limit your search results to items with particular reuse rights.