The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

E-Resource News

Showing 10 of 16 Results

Scheduled Maintenance - Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England & Wales (ICLR) - November 1, 2021
10/29/2021
ERM Team
No Subjects

The following resource may be unavailable during scheduled maintenance at the publisher's website: Monday, November 1, 2021

  • Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England & Wales (ICLR)

From the publisher:

On November 1st, 2021 ICLR Online will be upgrading from ICLR.3 to ICLR.4. This change will give you access to a number of new features and additional functionality to support your legal research.

These include:

  • Improved access to legislation: ICLR.4 is powered by legislation.gov.uk and offers the simplest way to search up-to-date UK legislation.
  • Expanded case information: All the information you need for case research will be available in one place.
  • New browsing options: Red Index has been replaced with technology that lets you search for cases by legal topic.

We would also like to introduce Case Genie - a brand new, AI-powered research tool available as part of the upgrade to ICLR.4

With Case Genie, you can:

  • Use natural language processing to find cases similar or related to those you're currently researching.
  • Run paragraph similarity checks, whereby the system matches paragraphs you select with content in other cases that discuss similar legislation or concepts.

ICLR.4 will keep all the functionality and usability of the previous version, and the look and feel of the site will be very familiar.

Please be aware there could be a brief pause in service during the upgrade.

Migration - Izvestiia Digital Archive
10/26/2021
ERM Team
No Subjects

Effective October 26, 2021, the following resource has migrated to the Global Press Archive platform. It will continue to be available to the University of Manitoba Libraries on the old and new platform.

Izvestiia Digital Archive (via Global Press Archive) This link opens in a new window
 
Please Note: As of October 2021, this database has migrated to the Global Press Archive platform. Dual access at the former website and the new website will continue.

Coverage: 1917 - 2011

Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR.
Izvestiia Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
 
Please Note: As of October 2021, this database has migrated to the Global Press Archive platform. Dual access at the former website and the new website will continue.

Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR.
 
Upgrade - Curio.ca
10/25/2021
ERM Team
No Subjects

Effective October 25, 2021, the following resource has made changes and upgrades to their website; it continues to be available to the University of Manitoba Libraries.

  • Curio.ca This link opens in a new window
    • A Canadian resource
    Curio.ca is CBC and Radio-Canada’s online streaming service developed for the Canadian educational community. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more — thousands of programs and resources can be accessed on this site. Includes commercial-free English and French language content. Programs include The Nature of Things, The Fifth Estate, News in Review, and The National.
     
 
 

 

Access Restored - Emerald Full Text - October 22, 2021
10/22/2021
ERM Team
No Subjects

Our access has been restored to the following resource - thank-you for your patience.

Emerald Full Text

Temporary issues on Emerald Full Text
10/21/2021
ERM Team
No Subjects

Emerald has advised that they are experiencing intermittent server errors across all access methods on the Emerald Insight platform. As a result, library users may experience slow loading times.  They are working to resolve this and will provide an update shortly. Thank you for your patience.

Ovid Information - Annual Ovid MEDLINE Reload
10/20/2021
ERM Team
No Subjects

Notice from Ovid Technologies:

As in past years, the National Library of Medicine (NLM) will end their 2021 distribution of updates to make the transition to the 2022 version of MeSH. On December 1, 2021, the NLM expects to temporarily halt the addition of “MEDLINE” status citations, but we will continue to add citations with the status “Publisher” and "In-Process" to Ovid MEDLINE uninterrupted. Once the NLM completes their year-end activities, they will deliver the first new "MEDLINE" status records around mid-December and we will add them to Ovid MEDLINE again.

The Ovid MEDLINE reload with MeSH 2022 is currently scheduled to go live on February 28, 2022. 

Important note for users who currently run AutoAlerts for Ovid MEDLINE
While the NLM performs its annual data maintenance, no new fully indexed status MEDLINE records are added and will therefore be missing from AutoAlert results. The NLM expects the normal MEDLINE update schedule to resume mid-December 2021. Ovid AutoAlerts at that time will include new status MEDLINE records added since the previous update. AutoAlerts that include Publisher and In-Process results will run as normal, depending on what the NLM supplies to Ovid during their year-end processing activities.

Ovid Information - APA PsycInfo Reload Problem
10/20/2021
ERM Team
No Subjects

Notice from Ovid Technologies:

Following the 15 October 2021 reload, we have received reports related to a problem with the APA PsycInfo Thesaurus tool. After reviewing these problems, Ovid has decided to roll back the reload to the status of 15 October. This rollback happened overnight 19 to 20 October and has resolved the issue.

Ovid AutoAlerts scheduled for APA PsycInfo are not affected by this rollback and will continue to run as normal. The next regular weekly update for APA PsycInfo will happen on Thursday 21 October.

Ovid will now start over with the process for reloading APA PsycInfo with the corrected Thesaurus tool, and we expect to complete this on Thursday 9 December 2021.


 

New Trials - British Archives Online: Governing Africa and Running the West Indies
10/14/2021
ERM Team
No Subjects

For access and information: http://libguides.lib.umanitoba.ca/az.php?a=g & http://libguides.lib.umanitoba.ca/az.php?a=r

If you would like to evaluate the Trial or send comments, your feedback is welcome.

Governing Africa (October 12 - November 16, 2021) This link opens in a new window
Trial
Coverage: 1808-1995

Governing Africa contains primary source documents mostly derived from a series of annual reports and accounts sent to the British Government by its colonial administrations in Africa. The featured collections cover British colonial administrations that reigned during the 19th and 20th centuries, and include content on 13 colonies, from Ghana and Togo to Kenya and Nigeria. Apartheid era South Africa is also covered extensively in the papers of journalist Colin Legum and materials from political parties on both sides of the racial and ideological divide.
Running the West Indies (October 12 - November 16, 2021) This link opens in a new window
Trial
Coverage: 1678-1950

See narrative accounts from missionaries combine with colonial statistics to create a picture of these former colonies' development. Learn how owners of an Antiguan sugar plantation adapted to emancipation, and witness the nature of missionaries' roles in the slave trade. Together, these collections reveal how governments, slave owners and missionaries shaped the development of these countries over three centuries.
 
New Database - Hlusta.is
10/12/2021
ERM Team
No Subjects

Hlusta.is is now available for discovery in Library Search and the Databases A-Z list.

Hlusta.is This link opens in a new window
New
Hlusta.is provides access to a wide selection of Icelandic audiobooks over a variety of categories, including: general information, children's stories and fairy tales, Icelandic sagas, Icelandic novels, Icelandic short stories, Christmas stories, criminal cases, biographies and stories, plays, poems, national information, legends, and much more.
 
Upgrade - ARTstor
10/08/2021
ERM Team
No Subjects

Effective October 7, 2021, the following resource has made changes and upgrades to their website; it continues to be available to the University of Manitoba Libraries.  

  • ARTstor

Some of the upgrades include improvements to navigating search results and the beginning of advanced image search capabilities.  This new feature is being built incrementally and will be rolling out over the coming weeks.  Recently released functionality includes:

  • Easier navigation of search results
  • Save and download from thumbnail view
  • Compare mode updates
  • Advanced image search

The Workspace is the environment on JSTOR where users can gather content, both text and image.  In the future, users will also be able to access and use Artstor image groups in the Workspace.  Artstor is working on features that will support working with many image groups, as well as with large groups of images.  Recently released functionality includes:

  • Continuous scrolling
  • Display notes and descriptions
  • Full screen/compare mode

 

 

 

Field is required.