E-Resource News

JBI EBP Database Subject Area Nodes

The JBI Evidence-based Practice (EBP) Database has expanded to cover 33 specialty fields across nursing, medical and allied health.

JBI has added or updated 14 subject area nodes in the JBI EBP database. All evidence-based resources within the JBI EBP Database are aligned to one or more specialty fields, with every specialty field overseen by an international Expert Reference Group (ERG) which identifies and peer reviews key practice priority topics to ensure relevance and impact on clinical practice.

All JBI EBP Database subscribers can now access 5,000+ clinical topics within 30+ specialties. The current subject area nodes used by JBI in indexing content in their database are below, those highlighted are new/updated:

Effective April 30, 2023, the following resource is no longer licensed for access by the University of Manitoba Libraries:

• Art and Architecture in Video

Our access has been restored to the following resource - thank-you for your patience.

• Lean Library extension

The Lean Library extension is currently experiencing issues.  Users are not seeing the below from the extension: 

- Lean Library Access features
- Lean Library Workflow for LibGuides features
- Lean Library Futures features
- Correct Styling on the pop-ups

The Lean Library Support Team is working on a solution.  An update will be provided once the issue has been resolved, and normal service restored.

Important information about an upcoming change to APA PsycInfo thesaurus indexing

We also want to inform you about an important change for APA PsycInfo and other APA databases.
The APA has decided to discontinue their Major/Minor term designation for subject headings:

• Starting 3 April 2023, all new records and corrections supplied by the APA will have all terms marked as “major”. Subject headings in the new records will all have the “*” prefix going forward.
• For PsycInfo users on Ovid, this means the "Focus" option will no longer apply to new records added to the database, because all new records and corrections are marked as major terms by default.
• Existing PsycInfo search strategies and AutoAlerts that make use of the "focus" option (e.g. *schizophrenia/ or exp *schizophrenia/) don't necessarily have to be adjusted. They'll continue to work, but for new records the * prefix will no longer make a difference.
• The expected increase in the number of results will vary per subject heading, but our tests indicate the increase in new results for focused searches will be limited to a factor of between 1.2 to 1.5.

The APA PsycINFO® Database has been reloaded with the latest APA Thesaurus Tool. Alerts ran on 20 March 2023, prior to the reload.

This reload enables APA’s Winter 2023 Update, the latest version of their Thesaurus & Classification Code tools.

The 2023 Winter Thesaurus Update provides 63 new postable terms and 48 new nonpostable or cross-referenced terms for more targeted search in areas of emerging research, including current social issues, mental health, gender and sexuality, human rights, and legal issues. Additionally, terms were added to provide more up-to-date and comprehensive diagnostic nomenclature for physical and mental disorders, consistent with the DSM-5-TR and ICD-11, with revised scope notes and term hierarchies.

Additional information can be found at the link above.

The following journal collection has been purchased by UML and added to Library Search:

ASCE Legacy Journal Archive

The following eBook Collections have been purchased by UML and are now available for discovery in Library Search and the Databases A-Z list: 

• GeoScienceWorld eBooks Archive Collection 1926-1985

• GeoScienceWorld eBooks Archive Collection 1986-1999

• De Gruyter Princeton University Press Complete eBook-Package 2023
• De Gruyter Harvard University Press Complete eBook-Package 2023
• De Gruyter University of California Press Complete eBook-Package 2023

MIT Press eBooks is now available for discovery in Library Search and the Databases A-Z list.