The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

E-Resource News

Showing 6 of 6 Results

New Trial - MGG Online
09/25/2023
ERM Team
No Subjects

If you would like to evaluate the Trial or send comments, your feedback is welcome.

MGG Online (September 25, 2023 - October 25, 2023) This link opens in a new window
  • Trial feedback This link opens in a new window
Trial
MGG Online is a searchable encyclopedia of music past and present. This reference work of international musicology offers articles on music in addition to related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. It contains the second print edition of Barenreiter and J.B. Metzler’s Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (1994 to 2008) as well as current, continuous updates and additions. The bilingual English/German interface allows for instant translation from German into numerous languages through integrated Google Translate and is compatible with mobile and tablet devices.
 
 
Cancellation - AgeLine
09/22/2023
ERM Team
No Subjects

Effective December 1, 2023, the following resource is no longer licensed for access by the University of Manitoba Libraries:

  • AgeLine
APA PsycInfo Database Reload Complete
09/20/2023
ERM Team
No Subjects

The APA PsycInfo® (PSYC) database was reloaded on 19 September 2023 to implement the Summer 2023 APA Thesaurus Tools. Details on new and updated terms can be found here.

In addition, Ovid has made the following changes to the database:
New Limit

  • Remove MEDLINE Records
New TRial - Pyrls
09/18/2023
ERM Team
No Subjects

If you would like to evaluate the Trial or send comments, your feedback is welcome.

Pyrls (September 18 - October 9, 2023) This link opens in a new window
  • Trial feedback This link opens in a new window
Trial
This database offers practical drug information, including counseling and clinical review points, pharmacology, proper use, and more.
 
Scheduled Maintenance - Taylor & Francis Online Journals - Sep. 17-18, 2023
09/13/2023
ERM Team
No Subjects

Due to scheduled maintenance at the publisher's website some functionality will be unavailable for this resource: Sunday, Sep. 17, 2023 11:00 pm - Monday, Sep. 18, 2023 5:00 pm  (CDT).

  • Taylor & Francis Online Journals

Users will still be able to search, browse and read articles, but registration, ePrints and account administration services will be temporarily suspended.

NEW New York Times subscription
09/05/2023
ERM Team
No Subjects

You may know that UM Libraries has had access to the New York Times through ProQuest for years. The subscription allowed for basic access to the text of articles in HTML formatting (meaning no photojournalism or ability to read the full articles on the New York Times website).

The new NYT subscription allows for full access to all news content on NYTimes.com (sorry – NYT Cooking and Games are not available in this subscription).

Accessing NYT

To get started reading today, set up your NYTimes.com account using the following steps:

  1. Go to accessnyt.com
  2. Type in University of Manitoba
  3. Click “Go” on the activation instructions page to authenticate with your UMnetID and password
  4. Then you can create an NYTimes.com account or login to your existing account
  5. To complete your account setup, you will need to indicate whether you are a student or faculty/staff
  6. You now have access to the New York Times!

The steps above are demonstrated in this video.

Special Features

TimesMachine

TimesMachine provides searchable and browsable page scans of every issue of The New York Times published between 1851 and 2002. Articles from 1851-1980 are also available as PDF downloads.

This is a great resource for those interested in seeing what was in the news on a particular day in history or want to look at historical advertising.

Newsletters

Visit nytimes.com/newsletters and discover more than 80 newsletters available on a daily or weekly basis. Find a subject relevant to your discipline or interests and get insights from The Times directly in your inbox. Grace O’Hanlon recommends the Breaking News, Canada Letter, and Education Briefing newsletters!

The New York Times in Education

Academic Site License also includes access to the education resource website, nytimes.com/edu which provides the following features:

  • Discipline-specific areas of study
  • Classroom discussion prompts
  • Suggested learning outcomes
  • General Instructional Strategies to promote student achievement
  • Co-Curricular Activities, including events, discussions, and contests

Learn more about newspapers in UM Libraries

If you are interested in learning more about newspapers available through UM Libraries, Caroline Chatman and Grace O’Hanlon are delivering a 1-hr workshop, Searching Newspaper Archives, about just that – details below!

Step into a world of captivating stories, historical insights, and research treasures with our upcoming workshop: Searching Newspaper Archives. Join us as we dive into the pages of renowned newspapers from around the world, local newspapers, and newspapers highlighting specific issues.

Workshop highlights:

  • Unleash the potential of resources like the Winnipeg Free Press and the Winnipeg Tribune archives, gaining exclusive access to local perspectives and historical events that shaped the city.
  • Dive into the illustrious New York Times archives, unraveling stories that impacted the world on a grand scale.
  • Navigate through a plethora of digital newspaper collections, spanning continents and decades, to extract valuable information for your research endeavors.
  • Learn expert techniques for efficient and effective newspaper searching, from advanced search strategies to uncovering rare photographs, advertisements, and editorials.

In-person workshop: October 3, 2023, at 12:30 p.m. in the Brown Lab, Elizabeth Dafoe Library

Online workshop: October 18, 2023, at 2:30 p.m. (registration link)

Field is required.