The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

E-Resource News

Showing 10 of 12 Results

New Database - NRCan Open Science and Technology Repository
07/29/2024
ERM Team
No Subjects

NRCan Open Science is now available for discovery in Library Search and the Databases A-Z list.

NRCan Open Science and Technology Repository This link opens in a new window
  • Alumni Access Permitted
  • A Canadian resource
  • Open Access
New
This platform provides public, web-based access to federally authored scientific publications and information. Its purpose is to collect, preserve, and share research output from Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) to reach the broadest possible audience and extend the impact of Canadian science. OSTR allows you to access all NRCan publications previously housed in the Canadian Forest Services and GEOSCAN databases.
 
New Database - Universal Database of Crimean Publications
07/24/2024
ERM Team
No Subjects

Universal Database of Crimean Publications is now available for discovery in Library Search and the Databases A-Z list.

Universal Database of Crimean Publications This link opens in a new window
New
This database encompasses five publications from the Crimean peninsula, including three ongoing and two discontinued titles. The collection covers: politics, economics, culture, and environmental issues.
 
Platform Security Enhancement - Ovid
07/24/2024
ERM Team
No Subjects

Effective Friday, July 26, 2024, starting at 11:00 AM (CDT), there will be an Ovid release to enhance platform security. Ovid will be limiting the file types that users can upload to My Projects. The list of permitted file types will include:
.csv, .doc, .docx, .xls, .xlsx, .ppt, .pptx, .mov, .avi, .m4v, .mkv, .mp3, .mp4, .mpg, .wmv, .ris, .ovd, .xml, .pdf, .txt, .jpg, .png, .tif, .gif

The following resources will continue to be available to the University of Manitoba Libraries:

Books@Ovid

JBI (via OvidSP) 

MEDLINE (Ovid)

Ovid

New Database - BioCyc
07/22/2024
ERM Team
No Subjects

BioCyc is now available for discovery in Library Search and the Databases A-Z list.

BioCyc This link opens in a new window
New
BioCyc is a collection of thousands of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) for model eukaryotes and for thousands of microbes, plus software tools for exploring them. BioCyc is an encyclopedic reference that contains curated data from over 100,000 publications.
The following websites are included with our BioCyc subscription: HumanCyc, BsubCyc, MetaCyc, EcoCyc, PathwayTools, and BioCyc.
Access Restored - Wiley Online Library - July 18, 2024
07/18/2024
ERM Team
No Subjects

Our access has been restored to the following resource - thank-you for your patience.  

  • Wiley Online Library
Outage - Wiley Online Library - July 16, 2024
07/16/2024
ERM Team
No Subjects

The following resource is currently unavailable.  We are working with the publisher to have access restored as soon as possible.  

  • Wiley Online Library
Scheduled Maintenance - multiple EBSCO products July 26, 2024
07/16/2024
ERM Team
No Subjects

Beginning Friday, July 26, 2024, EBSCO will be performing scheduled maintenance on the backend systems that manage processes, including EBSCO database and catalog updates.

During this scheduled maintenance, patron/end user access to EBSCO interfaces and databases will not be affected. The full duration of the maintenance may last up to 10 days. Here are the EBSCO products and services that will be impacted:

  • EBSCO eBooks: Customers will be able to purchase eBooks during the maintenance window, but new purchases will not be available to patrons until at least one day after the maintenance is complete and they are fulfilled to EBSCOhost. In addition, MARC records will not be available for up to two days until after the maintenance window.
  • EBSCOhost Research Databases/EBSCO Discovery Service: Updates to content in EBSCOhost databases and customer catalogs/ institutional repositories will be paused during the maintenance. Once the work has been completed, rebuilds to databases will restart and the content will begin to update. Please note, it may take up to 10 days from this maintenance for updates to be complete.

CAB Abstracts Database Reload Scheduled
07/15/2024
ERM Team
No Subjects

The CAB Abstracts database is being reloaded to implement the new full set of data.  Ovid expects it to be live on Tuesday, July 23, 2024.  Alerts will run on Monday, July 22, 2024, prior to the reload.

In addition, Ovid has made the following changes to the database:

New Fields:

  • Additional Language (AL)
  • Revised Date (RD) 

Deleted Fields:

  • Notes (NT)
  • CAS Registry Numbers (RN)

New Limits in Publication Type:

  • Audio
  • Case studies
  • Conference slides
  • External factsheets
  • Grant report
  • Identification guides
Scheduled Maintenance - ProQuest (Multiple products) - July 13-14, 2024
07/09/2024
ERM Team
No Subjects

The following resources will be unavailable during scheduled maintenance at the publisher's website:  Saturday, July 13, 9 pm - Sunday, July 14, 3 am (CDT).

  • ProQuest platform
  • Alexander Street platform
Access Restored - Canadian Standards Association OnDemand - July 3, 2024
07/03/2024
ERM Team
No Subjects

Our access has been restored to the following resource - thank-you for your patience.  

  • Canadian Standards Association OnDemand
Field is required.