LibGuides: Art History: Art Theory/Documents

Start here!

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Oxford Art Online provides access to Grove Dictionary of Art and Benezit Dictionary of Artists. It includes hundreds of thousands of articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, including images, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online reference service that aggregates authoritative reference works for desktop delivery. There are approximately 180 reference titles in Credo Reference, giving a total of 1.7 million entries, fully integrated and cross-linked.

Intro to art theory

But is it art? : an introduction to art theory (Online)
Call Number: N 66 F74 2001
Critical Terms for Art History (Online) by Robert S. Nelson (Editor); Richard Shiff (Editor)
Theory for Art History Theory for Art History　provides a concise and clear introduction to key contemporary theorists, including their lives, major works, and transformative ideas.　　 Written to reveal the vital connections between art history, aesthetics, and contemporary philosophy, this expanded second edition presents new ways for rethinking the methodologies and theories of art and art history.　The book comprises a complete revision of each theorist; updated and trustworthy bibliographies on each; an informative introduction about the reception of critical theory within art history; and a beautifully written, original essay on the state of art history and theory that serves as an afterword.　　 From Marx to Deleuze, from Arendt to Rancière,　Theory for Art History　is designed for use by　undergraduate students in courses on the theory and methodology of art history, graduate students seeking an introduction to critical theory that will prepare them to engage the primary sources, and　advanced scholars in art history and visual culture studies　who are themselves interested in how these perspectives inflect art historical practice. 　　　 Adapted from Theory for Religious Studiesby William E. Deal and Timothy K. Beal.
Call Number: N7480 .E46 2019

Art in Theory Collection

Art in theory 1648-1815
Call Number: Q REF N 6420 A78 2000
Art in Theory 1815-1900
Call Number: Q REF N 6450 A779 1998
Art in Theory 1900-2000
Call Number: Q REF N 6490 A7167 2003
Art in Theory A ground-breaking new anthology in the Art in Theory series, offering an examination of the changing relationships between the West and the wider world in the field of art and material culture Art in Theory: The West in the World is a ground-breaking anthology that comprehensively examines the relationship of Western art to the art and material culture of the wider world. Editors Paul Wood and Leon Wainwright have included 370 texts, some of which appear in English for the first time. The anthologized texts are presented in eight chronological parts, which are then subdivided into key themes appropriate to each historical era. The majority of the texts are representations of changing ideas about the cultures of the world by European artists and intellectuals, but increasingly, as the modern period develops, and especially as colonialism is challenged, a variety of dissenting voices begin to claim their space, and a counter narrative to western hegemony develops. Over half the book is devoted to 20th and 21st century materials, though the book's unique selling point is the way it relates the modern globalization of art to much longer cultural histories. As well as the anthologized material, Art in Theory: The West in the World contains: A general introduction discussing the scope of the collection Introductory essays to each of the eight parts, outlining the main themes in their historical contexts Individual introductions to each text, explaining how they relate to the wider theoretical and political currents of their time Intended for a wide audience, the book is essential reading for students on courses in art and art history. It will also be useful to specialists in the field of art history and readers with a general interest in the culture and politics of the modern world.  
Call Number: Quick Reference ; N5300 .A6843 2021

Contemporary Art Theory

Theories and documents of contemporary art : a sourcebook of artists' writings
Call Number: Q REF N 6490 T492 1996
Now Is the Time: art and theory in the 21st century by Eagleton, Terry
Call Number: N 66 N68 2009
Postmodernism: a very short introduction (Available online & in print)
Call Number: NX 456.5 P66 B88 2002
The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Postmodern Thought
Call Number: REF B 831.2 R68 1999
Feminism-art-theory: an anthology, 1968-2000
Call Number: N 72 F45 F442 2001
Art theory: a very short introduction
Call Number: N 71 F653 2003
Art since 1900: modernism, antimodernism and postmodernism.
Call Number: N 6490 F67 2016
Derrida Reframed
Call Number: B 2430 D484 R52 2008 (Dafoe)
Theory in Contemporary Art since 1985
Call Number: N 66 T49 2005
Regimes of Invisibility in Contemporary Art, Theory and Culture This book places a focus on the regimes of in/visibility and representation in Europe and offers an innovative perspective on the topic of global capitalism in relation to questions of race, class, gender and migration, as well as historicization of biopolitics and (de)coloniality. The aim of this volume is to revisit theories of art, new media technology, and aesthetics under the weight of political processes of discrimination, racism, anti-Semitism and new forms of coloniality in order to propose a new dispositive of the ontology and epistemology of the image, of life and capitalism as well as labor and modes of life. This book is firmly embedded in the present moment, when due to rapid and major changes on all levels of political and social reality the need for rearticulation in theoretical, artistic and political practices and rethinking of historical narratives becomes almost tangible.
Call Number: E book
Publication Date: 2017
Beyond Critique ebook by Pamela Fraser (Editor); Roger Rothman (Editor) Critique has long been a central concept within art practice and theory. Since the emergence of Conceptual Art, artists have been expected by critics, curators, and art school faculty to focus their work on exposing and debunking ideologies of power and domination. Recently, however, the effectiveness of cultural critique has come into question. The appearance of concepts such as the "speculative," the "reparative," and the "constructive" suggests an emerging postcritical paradigm. Beyond Critique takes stock of the current discourse around this issue. With some calling for a renewed criticality and others rejecting the model entirely, the book's contributors explore a variety of new and recently reclaimed criteria for contemporary art and its pedagogy. Some propose turning toward affect and affirmation; others seek to reclaim such allegedly discredited concepts as intimacy, tenderness, and spirituality. With contributions from artists, critics, curators and historians, this book provides new ways of thinking about the historical role of critique while also exploring a wide range of alternative methods and aspirations. Beyond Critique will be a crucial tool for students and instructors who are seeking to think and work beyond the critical.
Publication Date: 2018