LibGuides: Art History: Intro: Start Here

Guggenheim Museum

Encyclopedias/Standards

Bloomsbury Architecture Library This link opens in a new window Collection of resources to support the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. You can browse through an interactive visual timeline of global architectural history; study in-depth buildings pages; or research Bloomsbury's library of architecture ebooks.

Oxford Companion to Architecture
Call Number: Q REF NA 31 O94 2009
Canadian Handbook of Practice for Architects, 3 vols.
Call Number: REF NA 2570 R69122 2009
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture (also ONLINE)
Call Number: Q REF NA 680 E495 2004
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World
Call Number: Q REF NA 208 E53 1997

Research Hints

Strategies for using the Library Search:
Search by architect’s name: Frank Gehry or Francesco Borromini or Zaha Hadid
Search by period: architecture Renaissance or architecture modern or architecture 20^th century
Search by architect's country: architecture canada or architecture hungary
Search by style: postmodernism architecture or gothic revival architecture or bauhaus architecture
When using several concepts use the following format: church architecture gothic

Reference Collection: Surveys, Directories and Biographies

AHRnet Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950

Architecture sourcebook: a guide to the resources on the practice of architecture
Call Number: Q REF NA 2750 A75 1997
Contemporary Architects
Call Number: Q REF NA 680 C625 1994
A Global History of Architecture
Call Number: Q REF NA 200 C493 2017
International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture
Call Number: Q REF NA 40 I48 1993
The Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture
Call Number: REF OVERSIZE NA 687 P43 2008
The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture
Call Number: REF OVERSIZE NA 687 P42 2004

Articles from Journals/Magazines

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).