Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Fiction, 1774-1920
American Fiction, 1774-1920, demonstrates the utility of having more than 18,000 works of fiction in one place, in a consistent format. Titles up until 1900 are sourced from Lyle H. Wright's American Fiction: A Contribution Towards a Bibliography. Titles after 1900 are sourced from the Library of Congress Shelf List of American Adult Fiction and the Geoffrey D. Smith bibliography.
American Verse Project
The American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. The full text of each volume of poetry is being converted into digital form and coded in Standard Generalized Mark-up Language (SGML) using the TEI Guidelines, with various forms of access provided through the WWW.
Contemporary Authors Online offers continuous access to current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors.
Contemporary Literary Criticism (via Literature Criticism Online)
Contemporary Literary Criticism is an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides tens of thousands of biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. It includes the Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 is a digital collection containing tens of thousands of printed works: virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. The collection may be browsed by genre, subject, author, history of printing, place of publication and language. It is extensively indexed by subject.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
This resource provides access to the full text of hundreds of thousands of printed works published between 1701 and 1800 in the United Kingdom, as well as thousands of works from the Americas. The printed works include books, magazines, almanacs, pamphlets, devotional works, and song & verse, covering subject areas as various as history, geography, social sciences, medicine, science, literature, religion, philosophy, and law.
Emily Dickinson Archive
An open-access repository of all known original manuscripts of poetry by Emily Dickinson. High-resolution images of the manuscript pages are available, with complete transcriptions from several editions. The primary intended audience is literary scholars seeking access to the original manuscripts. Dickinson's papers are scattered in several collections, and like many historical archives, physical access is extremely limited due to age and fragility of the materials.
English Short Title Catalogue
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) is a comprehensive, international union catalogue listing early books, serials, newspapers and selected ephemera printed between 1473 and 1800. It contains catalogue entries for items issued in Britain, Ireland, overseas territories under British colonial rule, and the United States. Also included is material printed elsewhere which contains significant text in English, Welsh, Irish or Gaelic.
A collection of fiction, poetry, and plays that represent the Chicano culture and the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States. Most of the works are in English, with some in Spanish.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
This collection includes published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, including previously unpublished materials and some biographies. Content is drawn from journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, and much of the material is in copyright. Most age groups, life stages, ethnicities and geographical regions are represented.
Victorian Popular Culture
Coverage: 1779 - 1930
Victorian Popular Culture is a resource for the study of popular entertainment during the Victorian Era, containing a range of source material from America, Britain and Europe.
The resource is divided into four sections:
- Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
- Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment
- Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
- Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic
Walt Whitman Archive
A collection of works by and about Whitman, America's most influential poet and a writer of global renown. He is also the most challenging, as the sheer volume of his work and multiple drafts present textual difficulties. Content includes Whitman's published works, personal manuscripts and notebooks, biography, letters, bibliography and criticism, audio, portraits, teaching materials, and more.
Wright American Fiction
This database is a compilation of the three-volume set of "American Fiction 1851-1875" by Lyle H. Wright, considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult fiction of the 18th and 19th centuries.