Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collections
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
This edition of the collection includes a plethora of pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from 1500 to 1950, including several thousand pages of previously unpublished materials. The database includes journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of which is in copyright.
British Literary Manuscripts Online
British Literary Manuscripts Online is a digitized collection of manuscripts of British authors. It contains poems, plays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, and other papers from major library collections, reproduced in facsimile and searchable via detailed descriptive information. Includes Part I (1660-1900) and Part II (Medieval & Renaissance)
Contemporary Authors Online offers continuous access to current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors.
Contemporary Literary Criticism (via Literature Criticism Online)
Contemporary Literary Criticism is an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides tens of thousands of biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. It includes the Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers.
Dictionary of Old English Corpus
An online database of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text, representing millions of words of Old English and Latin.
This 2009 edition was compiled by the University of Toronto with the support of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Early English Books Online (EEBO) is a full-image digital resource of hundreds of thousands of texts printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, written between 1473 and 1700 and listed in major catalogues of the time period. These catalogues include the two title catalogues compiled by Pollard and Redgrave (1475-1640) and Wing (1661-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Tract Supplements. Early English Books Online includes religious, literary, philosophical, political, and scientific books.
Eighteenth-Century Fiction brings together nearly 100 complete works of English prose from the period 1700-1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
This resource provides access to the full text of hundreds of thousands of printed works published between 1701 and 1800 in the United Kingdom, as well as thousands of works from the Americas. The printed works include books, magazines, almanacs, pamphlets, devotional works, and song & verse, covering subject areas as various as history, geography, social sciences, medicine, science, literature, religion, philosophy, and law.
Eighteenth Century Journals
This portal provides access to Sections I, II and III of Adam Matthew's digital project Eighteenth Century Journals.
It brings together rare journals printed between c.1680 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, while others run for several years.
Coverage: 1500 - 1990 (approx.)
English Poetry is a comprehensive collection of poetry in English from the 8th century to the early 20th. It contains hundreds of thousands of poems by over a thousand poets, drawn from numerous printed sources.
English Short Title Catalogue
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) is a comprehensive, international union catalogue listing early books, serials, newspapers and selected ephemera printed between 1473 and 1800. It contains catalogue entries for items issued in Britain, Ireland, overseas territories under British colonial rule, and the United States. Also included is material printed elsewhere which contains significant text in English, Welsh, Irish or Gaelic.
London Low Life
Coverage: 18th - early 20th century
London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to London. Also includes secondary resources: a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries and links to relevant websites.
Nineteenth-century Scholarship Online (NINES)
NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first. NINES aims to gather the best scholarly resources in the field and make them fully searchable and interoperable; and to provide an online collecting and authoring space in which researchers can create and publish their own work.
NINES also is home to Juxta, a tool for comparing and collating multiple documentary instances of the same work; and to Ivanhoe, a collaborative game-space for interpreting textual and other cultural materials. Other interpretive tools and applications are in the planning stages.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives and includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Collections include:
Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
British Politics and Society
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
Children's Literature and Childhood
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
Photography: The World through the Lens
Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925
Women: Transnational Networks
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules. Each entry is a selective guided tour through the key literature on a topic and receives multiple peer-reviews. The University of Manitoba Libraries subscribes to the following subject modules:
Cinema and Media Studies
Renaissance & Reformation
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Simultaneous user limit: 1
Oxford DNB provides biographies of men and women who have shaped British history and culture worldwide from the Romans to the present.
Palmer's Index to The Times Coverage:
Palmer's Index to the Times provides indexing to The Times (London) newspaper. For full text, go to Times Digital Archive 1785-2011
, or use The Times microfilm in Elizabeth Dafoe Library.
The Perdita Project is a database of digitized works written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, concentrating on rare and obscure works which exist only in manuscript form ("Perdita" means "lost woman"). Produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University.
Piers Plowman Electronic Archive
The Piers Plowman Electronic Archive, a collaborative open-access project, presents the rich textual tradition of Piers Plowman, a fourteenth-century allegorical dream vision attributed to William Langland. The Archive enables users to explore late medieval literary and manuscript culture through the many variations of Piers Plowman.
The Shelley-Godwin Archive will provide the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, bringing together online for the first time ever the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this uniquely gifted family of writers. The result of a partnership between the New York Public Library and the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities, in cooperation with Oxford’s Bodleian Library, the S-GA also includes key contributions from the Huntington Library, the British Library, and the Houghton Library. In total, these partner libraries contain over 90% of all known relevant manuscripts.
The Sickly Taper provides bibliographies for dozens of Gothic and horror writers, as well as special topics in Gothic studies. This resource is run out of the Department of English Language, Literature, and Creative Writing, at the University of Windsor.
Spenser Online is an open-access database that brings together resources to support the reading, discussion, and enjoyment of the works of Edmund Spenser. It includes a biography, chronology, critical bibliography, and online texts. It also hosts the International Spenser Society and its publication, The Spencer Review.
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006
The Sunday Times Digital Archive provides access to investigative journalism of the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the late 19th and 20th centuries. The Sunday Times was an entirely separate newspaper from The Times until 1966, and even today remains editorially independent.
Times (of London) Digital Archive 1785-2011
The Times (of London) Digital Archive is a text searchable, full-image online archive of every page published by The Times from 1785-2011. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
This collection includes the complete run of The Times Literary Supplement from 1902-2019. The TLS has an established reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate, attracting contributions from many of the most influential writers and critical opinion makers of the 20th and 21st centuries.
Victorian Popular Culture
Coverage: 1779 - 1930
Victorian Popular Culture is a resource for the study of popular entertainment during the Victorian Era, containing a range of source material from America, Britain and Europe.
The resource is divided into four sections:
- Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
- Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment
- Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
- Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic
Victorian Studies Bibliography
Victorian Studies Bibliography indexes journals that have a bearing on the Victorian period, covering a wide range of disciplines. Prepared by the staff of Victorian Studies at Indiana University and a committee of the Victorian Division of the Modern Language Association of America.
The Victorian Web presents images and documents, including entire books, as nodes in a network of complex connections. This unique approach allows users to see relationships between different fields and encounter books, paintings, political events, and other content in multiple contexts.
Victorian Women Writers Project
The Victorian Women Writers Project, begun at Indiana University, highlights lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres: poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 (Series 2)
A directory of newspapers and periodicals published in England between January 1, 1800 and December 31, 1900. It consolidates information from secondary sources, including scholarly resources for press historians, and reference works on the history of Great Britain. The directory also includes digital images of title pages for many Victorian periodicals.