Indigenous Studies: Indigenous Peoples in Canada: Primary Sources

Coverage: 17th century - present

Indigenous Peoples: North America contains primary-source collections from Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples. It includes manuscripts, book collections, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations, as well as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages.

Early Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1474 to the present. The collection is made up of personal accounts and unique perspectives.

The database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Includes biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs.

Coverage: 1650-1920
Frontier Life is a digital collection of primary source documents that focus on the lives of settlers and Indigenous peoples. Various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia are highlighted.

This collection includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence. This library also features rare compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen that have never before been accessible online.

This primary source database provides original materials from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical organization. It includes documents related to CMS missions to Africa, the Americas, India, the Middle East, Missions to Women, and the central records of the CMS.

Coverage:1828-2016

A database presents a diverse collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828-2016. The collection includes national periodicals, local community news, and student publications in English, French and Indigenous languages such as Cherokee, Hawaiian and Navajo.

Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.

The ProQuest Digitized Newspapers contains local and national microfilmed newspapers. The University of Manitoba has access to:

• New York Times
• Wall Street Journal