LibGuides: Architecture: Canadian/Manitoba Architecture

Manitoba Reference Resources

Winnipeg Modern: Architecture from 1945 -75. Online and in print.
Call Number: NA 747 W5 W46 2006
Broadway Modern : Winnipeg Architecture
Call Number: Q REF NA 747 W5 W4 no.1 2012
University of Manitoba Modern : Winnipeg Architecture
Call Number: Q REF NA 747 W5 W4 no.3 2012
Brutalist Architecture in Winnipeg
Call Number: Q REF NA 747 W5 W4 no.2 2012

Winnipeg Architecture Foundation

Neeginan: A Feasibility Report Prepared for NEEFINAN (Manitoba) Inc.

Canadian Sources

A Guide to Canadian Architectural Styles
Call Number: Q REF NA 740 M35 2004
A History of Canadian Architecture
Call Number: Q REF NA 740 K35 1994
Canadian Modern Architecture, 1967 to the present
Call Number: REF NA 745 C27 2019

Online Databases

Winnipeg Building Index This link opens in a new window The Winnipeg Building Index is an ongoing project which identifies sources of information on Winnipeg's rich and varied architecture. The sources may include monographs, journals articles, ephemera, plans, elevations and images.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).

Canada's Historic Places Provides a single source of information about all historic places recognized for their heritage value at the local, provincial, territorial and national levels throughout Canada.

Vertical Files

We have a vertical file collection located in the Reading Room of the Architecture/Fine Arts Library. The Architect Files are interfiled with the Artist files. There is a separate Building File.

U of M Student Publications

Archfolio

DoA Press is a collaborative initiative of the Department of Architecture's Publications Committee to share student and faculty work and cultivate critical discourse on architectural design. ArchFolio is an annual print and digital booklet of representative student work from architecture studios and courses. Other special titles celebrate unique projects and research events.

Prairie Design Lab - podcast

Prairie Design Lab is a podcast on ideas. design, and culture, organized as part of the Cultural Events at the Faculty of Architecture, the University of Manitoba in collaboration with Terry MacLeod.

Warehouse

Warehouse is a non-profit journal established in 1992 that showcases the yearly work of students and staff from the University of Manitoba's Faculty of Architecture. The publication is devoted to the critical pursuit of design discourse and the greater application to various collective communities. The journal reflects, engages, and extends ideas from within the various departments that fall within the interdisciplinary vision of our faculty.