The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Here's a list of additional databases that would be useful for topics in biological anthropology.
Here's a list of additional databases that would be useful for topics in archaeology.
Here's a list of multidisciplinary databases that would be useful in topics of general anthropology, sociocultural anthropology, biological anthropology, and archaeology.
Here's a list of additional databases that would be useful for topics in sociocultural anthropology.
A journal is a collection of academic articles that are published periodically throughout the year. This could be published on a monthly basis or every couple of months a year. It usually contains volumes and issues. For example, “Journal of Forestry” or “Journal of Psychology”.
An article (also known as journal articles, academic articles or scholarly articles) are shorter than books, and are published in journals. Academic articles are written by experts in the field for academics (such as students and professors) and researchers. These articles often have extensive citations/references at the end of each article.
Peer-reviewed articles are articles that have been reviewed by other experts in the field and are considered to be the best types of articles. You can determine if a journal article is peer-reviewed using UlrichsWeb.
Databases collect and organize many journals about a particular field of research together in a single place that can be searched easily. For example, "Sociological Abstracts" or "Anthropology Plus".
In other words, you search a database to find articles that have been published in journals.
For additional instructional videos, please visit the Finding Books and Articles page of the Undergraduate Help Guide.
