LibGuides: Interdisciplinary Health Programs: Articles & Databases

Multidisciplinary databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.

Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Scopus Search Help
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1900 - present

A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, plus selected relevant items from many of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Web of Science Search Help
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.

Components include:
- BIOSIS Citation Index (2010-present)
- BIOSIS Previews (1926-present)
- Current Contents Connect (1998-present)
- Data Citation Index (1900-present)
- Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)
- KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present)
- MEDLINE® (1950-present)
- Preprint Citation Index (1991-present)
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index (1637-present)
- SciELO Citation Index (1997-present)
- Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present)
- Zoological Record (1864-present)
Web of Science Search Help

Specialized databases

Sage Research Methods Online
Sage Research Methods Online contains content from 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book” and “Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and newly commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.

Child Welfare Information Gateway This link opens in a new window
The Child Welfare Information Gateway is for researchers, practitioners, policy makers, and administrators working to prevent and treat child abuse and neglect, and to provide out-of-home placement and permanency planning services. Citations and abstracts are to books, journal articles, final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and more.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 603 journals indexed in CINAHL. This database also provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL® with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

CINAHL Search Help
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
PubMed Search Help
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).

Find Theses

MSpace This link opens in a new window
MSpace is the University of Manitoba's institutional repository, dedicated to collecting, storing, and preserving digital versions of the intellectual output of University of Manitoba faculty, researchers,and students. It contains datasets, undergraduate and graduate theses, historical pamphlets, and other research publications.
Dissertations & Theses (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Full-text Coverage: restricted to University of Manitoba dissertations and theses, 1929-2014. For 2015 onward, see Mspace

Dissertations and theses published since 1980 includes an abstract written by the author.

Web of Science Search Help
Theses Canada This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1926 - present

Theses Canada indexes Canadian theses and dissertations held by Library and Archives Canada (Canada's national library), acquired from participating Canadian universities. Any thesis/dissertation not available full-text online can be ordered through interlibrary loan.

Government Documents

Health Canada Departmental Library Catalogue Online This link opens in a new window
The catalogue represents the holdings of the Departmental Library, the National Clearinghouse on Family Violence Resource Center, the Division of Aging and Seniors Resource Center, and the Childhood and Youth Special Collection, as well as the Quebec Regional Library.
Federal Science Library This link opens in a new window
A one-stop portal where you can access library services, request materials, and search the print collections and repositories of science-based departments and agencies. Content includes departmental publications, policy and program information, reports, and data sets. Wherever possible, content is freely available to view and download.

Participating Members:
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Environment and Climate Change Canada
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Health Canada
National Research Council Canada
Natural Resources Canada
Public Health Agency of Canada