Interdisciplinary Health Programs: Aging Research Workshop - Master's Proram

 Dictionaries & Handbooks:

• The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology

• The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology

• The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing

• Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences

• World of Sociology

Research Method Related Titles:

• The Sage encyclopedia of qualitative research methods
• Reference H 61 S234 2008 v.1 & v.2

• Qualitative research in nursing and healthcare*
• 2nd Floor RT 81.5 H656 2010

• Designing qualitative research*
• 2nd Floor H 62 M277 2011, 2006, 1999 eds.

• Introducing qualitative research : a student's guide to the craft of doing qualitative research*
• 2nd Floor H 62 B328 2008

• Beginning qualitative research: a philosophical and practical guide

• Research as social change:  new opportunities for qualitative research

• Foundations for research:  methods of inquiry in education and the social sciences

* Please check the title to see its availability on the stack.

Search Tools:

Top two tools:

Ageline, the database for aging and gerontology research literature, uses Thesaurus of Aging Terminology (8th Edition, 2005) to index the literature.   The Thesaurus is extremely useful as it lists all the terms or descriptors used to index records included in Ageline.  It helps you to identify potential terms for your search and help you focus or refocus your Ageline search.

Scopus is an interdisciplinary database and an effective tool to search journal articles addressing interdisciplinary topics.  Among other features, Scopus is also a citation index tool and helps you quickly identify if the article is sited by other journal articles and connect you to other potential sources that are potentially relevant to your research topic.

PubMed or Pubget for the sources with health scientific perspectives.

The latest compilation available for Thesaurus of Aging Terminology is its 8th edition and published in 2005.  It's available from the Reference Collection at the Dafoe Library Main Floor and its shelf location is Z 695.1 A376 T48 2005.  Its PDF version is also available online.  An exercise related to the use of AgeLine terminology prepared by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) is attached.