Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

City Planning: Maps & Images

Written by Liv Valmestad

Maps

GIS/Spatial Data - A guide to some of the mapping resources available through the University of Manitoba Libraries.

Winnipeg Historical Maps -
This Flickr collection includes maps covering Winnipeg transportation, growth and boundaries, zoning and planning, and geological engineering.

For more information please contact:
Cynthia Dietz
GIS Environmental Studies Librarian Elizabeth Dafoe Library 204-474-7134 cynthia_dietz@umanitoba.ca

Digital Databases

The best place to find visual precedents is in the architecture journal literature. You can browse the journals, or search the project type in the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals where these journals are indexed. 

The databases below have images by project type and ARTstor has many architectural models and drawings. 

  Search for a particular building, or go under COLLECTIONS and open the Museum of Modern Art Architectural Collection.

ARTstor Blog
Learn about ARTstor collections, tools, services & events.

Art & Architecture ePortal - over 40,000 images from publications on art and architecture


Great Buildings CollectionGreat Buildings Online Database

 Explore Architecture on Architecture.com by RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) has an excellent building type section.

THE SKYSCRAPER MUSEUM

City of Winnipeg

City of Winnipeg
Maps, Department of Planning , Property and Development
Garry Ave.
Data Pricing and Maps for Sale

For different types of mapping from the City of Winnipeg:
Contact City of Winnipeg at email:  ppd-mapping@winnipeg.ca or call 311

Province of Manitoba
Aerial Views
1007 Century St.
Provincial Mapping: 204-945-6666 (call first!)

Winnipeg Transit
204-986-5751


Dafoe Reserve has land information.