LibGuides: City Planning: Articles

Interdisciplinary E-Journal Indexes/Databases

SAGE Journals Online
Urban Planning can be found as follows: click on Social Sciences, then you will find Urban Studies & Planning listed at the bottom. Now you can search these journals as a bundle.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
EBSCOhost Full Text This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of periodicals, in most cases back to 1984. It also contains full text for over a thousand periodicals, in many cases going back to 1990. Many of these periodicals are peer-reviewed journals. Different modules cover academic journals, popular magazines, Canadian magazines, high school magazines, and children's magazines. These can be searched separately or combined.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.

List of Urban Planning Journals in SAGE

Urban Planning Journals List [PDF]

Newspapers

Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.
Globe and Mail: Canada's heritage from 1844 This link opens in a new window Coverage: most recent 3 years not included; Sunday issues not included. To access Sunday content, search by article title at the Globe & Mail website Canada's Heritage From 1844 contains over 150 years of content from Canada's national daily newspaper, including every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, birth and death notice, and more.
New York Times Historical (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window The New York Times Historical (1851-2020) offers full page and article images of every page of every issue, with searchable full text.

Indexes and Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window The Health Sciences Collection includes full text journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as nursing, social studies of health, nursing research, health services & administration, community / public health nursing, qualitative research, cultural studies, child psychiatry, transcultural psychiatry, adult health nursing, public health, public policy & public administration, health psychology, aging and gerontology etc.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window PAIS International, from Public Affairs Information Service, is an index to literature on political, economic, and social issues of current interest. The database covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. Emphasis is on issues that are, or might become, the subject of legislation. Coverage dates back to 1915.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly. Components include:Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)Index Chemicus (1993-present)Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)

Urban Studies & Planning Journals

Search Multiple Databases

You can search multiple databases at once if we get them from the same vendor. For example, you can search Avery, CBCA, and multiple newspapers (Canadian Major Dailies, etc.) because they all come from ProQuest.

To do so, select one and once the link opens click "Change Database" at the top. From there you can check off all the databases you want to search.

Library Access Browser Extension

Library Access
The Library Access browser extension provides quick and simple access to digital content provided by the University of Manitoba Libraries wherever and whenever you decide to study.