Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
These are more general, broad-based engineering databases. For more specialized resources, please click on the subject-specific engineering sources.
Here is a list of science & engineering journal abbreviations
CCINFO CHEMINFO, MSDS
CCINFO is an occupational health and safety resource. CCINFO includes several databases which contain factual data about various chemical substances. The OSH References collection covers journal articles dealing with occupational health and safety issues.
EBSCOhost Full Text
EBSCOhost provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of periodicals, in most cases back to 1984. It also contains full text for over a thousand periodicals, in many cases going back to 1990. Many of these periodicals are peer-reviewed journals. Different modules cover academic journals, popular magazines, Canadian magazines, high school magazines, and children's magazines. These can be searched separately or combined.
Engineering Village provides a searchable index of engineering literature and patent information. Designed by, and for, the engineering community, the platform offers access to multiple engineering databases, providing peer-reviewed, deeply indexed engineering research content.
Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources
Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.
IEEE Xplore: IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
The IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) provides access to the full text of ejournals, ebooks, conference proceedings, and technical standards of: the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers). Subject areas include electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, bioengineering, and communication technologies, among other growing areas of research.
Inspec provides access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.
The database, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, contains over eight million bibliographic records taken from 3,500 scientific and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
Please note: Due to publisher restrictions, some titles cannot be downloaded or printed.
Please note: Content of books published by Cambridge University Press are not available for offline mobile access via "My Knovel To Go" this includes printing and downloading of content.
Knovel is an online technical resource used by applied scientists and engineers to locate reliable technical information.
Please note: This resource will be unavailable during scheduled maintenance at the publisher's website:
Saturday, Jan. 30, 9:00 pm - Jan. 31, 7:00 am (CDT).
Please note: Users can create a "My Research" account to save searches, documents, and citations (up to 4000). Citations can be exported up to 1000 at a time.
Search interface for a variety of ProQuest databases
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
SpringerLink (E-Books and E-Journals)
SpringerLink provides access to a growing collection of scientific documents, including
journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. University of Manitoba Libraries subscribes to select (but not all) SpringerLink content.
* By default, a search in SpringerLink includes Preview-Only content. If a yellow lock icon is next to the book, article, or chapter title, UML does not have access to the full text. You can preview the first two pages of any chapter using the Look Inside button, but you cannot download it
* Ebooks with full text available will not have the yellow lock icon and will have buttons to view online or download either the whole book or each chapter individually as a PDF
* To browse ebooks with full text available:
Connect to SpringerLink (E-Books and E-Journals)
Scroll to the bottom left and click on Books under Our Content.
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)
Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)
Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)
Index Chemicus (1993-present)
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)