LibGuides: Engineering Resources: eBooks/Handbooks

eBooks/Handbooks

The following are links to groups of e-book collections and to engineering-related handbooks available through the Libraries.

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window Please Note: Users are advised to clear their browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource. CHEMnetBASE contains the electronic versions of several core chemistry handbooks which contain physical property data.
Elsevier Reference Works This link opens in a new window Elsevier Reference Works on Science Direct is a collection of electronic encyclopedias providing comprehensive topical reviews in the basic and clinical biomedical sciences. Search all the contents at once, individually or browse the table of contents for each encyclopedic work. View chapters in preview mode or download them as a PDF. Link from cited sources within a chapter to the Scopus record, to cited by records in Scopus, or to the full text of many articles.
ENGnetBASE This link opens in a new window ENGnetBASE provides access to thousands of handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial and mining engineering. The University of Manitoba Libraries only has full-text access to a selected number of books from this database. Please contact the Engineering Librarian if you would like to recommend a title for purchase.
Google Books This link opens in a new window Google Books is a huge repository of books and magazines. In many cases, access is restricted to certain percentage of the contents, but many older works are fully readable on the screen.
Knovel This link opens in a new window Please Note: Due to publisher restrictions, some titles can't be downloaded or printed. Select publishers also prohibit offline mobile access ("My Knovel To Go"). Knovel is an online technical resource used by applied scientists and engineers to locate reliable technical information.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window Access to 1961-2014 content only. SpringerMaterials provides curated data and functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields. SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, and also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data.