LibGuides: Renaissance/Baroque Art: Articles

Online Journal Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.

The titles below are online journals (note the coverage period, as you may have to access earlier issues in print):
Artibus et historiae
Art History
The Art Newspaper
Burlington Magazine
Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Renaissance Studies
Renaissance Quarterly
Sixteenth Century Journal

Print Journals

Subject Databases

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window An in-depth record of contemporary art history, Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism at a keystroke. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Simultaneous user limit: 6 Historical Abstracts is an index to the world's scholarly literature in history. It covers the history of the world, including all countries, except Canada and the United States, for the period 1450 to the present. Works on Canadian and U.S. history are indexed in the ABC-CLIO database, "America: History and Life" The database indexes articles, book reviews and dissertations.
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window The Art and Architecture Archive (1860-2015) is a valuable resource for scholars of 20th-century art, design, and architecture. It offers access to consumer and trade magazines from around the world that document key developments, industry news, and artworks.
Iter : Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window Coverage: 400 - 1700 Iter is a bibliography of secondary source material about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance. It includes citations for books, journals, dissertation abstracts, essays, catalogues, discographies, and others.

Interdisciplinary Fulltext Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Project MUSE Full Database This link opens in a new window Project MUSE offers full-text articles from scholarly journals from major university presses, covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

Newspapers

New York Times This link opens in a new window Please Note: Effective April 1, 2024 this title will no longer be licensed for access by the University of Manitoba Libraries. Full-text coverage of The New York Times, offering coverage of national and international news, important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
New York Times Historical (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window The New York Times Historical (1851-2020) offers full page and article images of every page of every issue, with searchable full text.

Gallery/Museum Bulletins

Bulletin of the Detroit Institute of Arts
Bulletin van het Rijksmusem
Bulletin - Philadelphia Museum of Art
Bulletin of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Museum Studies - Art Institute of Chicago

Library Access Browser Extension

Library Access
The Library Access browser extension provides quick and simple access to digital content provided by the University of Manitoba Libraries wherever and whenever you decide to study.