Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Renaissance/Baroque Art: Images/Iconography

Online Museums/Galleries

The Google Art Project: Like Street View for Museums
http://www.googleartproject.com/  gathers together seminal works from Germany, Russia, New York, and 14 other locations online. The interactive street-view-style interface makes even hairline cracks visible. New York's Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Museum of Modern Art are among the participating galleries. 

Iconography: Classical/Mythological

™Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art.  ARCH/FA REF N 7560 H34 1979b
 
™Studies in iconology; humanistic themes in the art of the Renaissance. ARCH/FA N 6370 P3 1962
 
™Pagan mysteries in the Renaissance. Storage, 709.45 W722 Pa.

Digital Databases

ARTstor home 

Dutch Paintings of the Seventeenth Century
This is a Getty initiative and is a digital catalogue produced by the national gallery of Art, Washington.

Getty Images
Includes stock photography, editorial photos, and some moving images.

Flickr Commons
A free public collection of photographs from major photography archives. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and more.

Iconography: Christian

The Oxford dictionary of saints. Daf REF BR 1710 F34 1997
Signs & symbols in Christian art. (Ferguson) Arch/FA REF 7830 F37 1961
Iconography of Christian Art, 2 vols. (Schiller) Arch/FA REF N 7830 S3513

Catholic Eycyclopedia http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/

Image Resources

Images Resources compiled by Janin Henri, UCLA is an excellent resource! Why invent the wheel?

Iconography: General

GENERAL SUBJECT DICTIONARIES
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art Arch/FA REF N7560 H34 1979b

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art Arch/FA REF N7560 E53 1998

Hall's Illustrated dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art Arch/FA REF N7740 H35 1994

Image as insight: visual understanding in Western Christianity and secular culture. St. P BV 150 M47 1985

Dictionary of symbolism: cultural icons and the meanings behind them. Arch/FA REF AZ 108 B5313 1994