Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographical and Bio-bibliographical Sources - Russian Literature
- Early modern Russian writers, late seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Ed. Marcus C. Levitt. Detroit: Gale Research Inc., 1995.
CALL NUMBER: PG 2991 .2 E37 1995 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
The focus of this Russian literary source is biographical and not criticism. It concentrates on those writers such as Krylov and Murav’ev who witnessed the transition of Russian culture from that of a medieval one, to one forging a more European identity.
- Foster, Liudmila A. Bibliografiia russkoi zarubezhnoi literatury, 1918-1968. Boston: G.K. Hall 1970.
CALL NUMBER: Z 2513 F66 v.1-2 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
A comprehensive bibliography of Russian literature published by Russians outside of the former Soviet Union from the period 1918-1968. It is arranged alphabetically according to the writer’s surname, and indexed according to genre. The work includes both an English-language as well as a Russian-language table of contents.
- Handbook of Russian literature. Ed. Victor Terras. New Haven; London: Yale University Press, 1985.
CALL NUMBER: PG 2940 H29 1985 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
An excellent reference encyclopedia covering all periods of Russian literature, including over 1,000 entries by various distinguished North American and European scholars. Although only 1 volume in length, it is a very comprehensive survey of Russian literary history, comprising articles on authors, genres, literary movements, and literary periodicals
- MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures. New York: MLA (Database in E-Library)
Most comprehensive annual bibliography on literature, including Russian literature. Covers books, dissertations, articles and essays. The printed bibliography is available from 1921-1995 in Dafoe Reference (Call Number Z 7006 M64). In addition to the printed volumes, easy access is available electronically through the MLA database in E-Library, covering the years 1963 to the present.
- Nemec Ignashev, Diane. Women and writing in Russia and the USSR : a bibliography of English-language sources. New York: Garland Pub., 1992.
CALL NUMBER: Z 2503.5 W6 N45 1992 (Dafoe Reference)
A comprehensive English-language bibliography focusing on women writers of Russia and the former USSR. The bibliography is divided according to various literary periods, and consists of both primary and secondary sources of American and Western academic and popular publications. A good resource for women’s studies as a whole, with emphasis on English literary translations of both fiction and non-fiction works. The latter portion of this bibliographical resource is devoted to Russian women and their relation to: health and medicine, law, politics, motherhood and family, religion, national identity, etc.
- Proffer Carl and Ronald Meyer. Nineteenth-Century Russian literature in English. A bibliography of criticism and translation. Ann Arbor: Ardis, 1990.
CALL NUMBER: Z 2503.P76 1990 (Slavic Collection)
A bibliography of English-language sources of criticism and translations of major Russian writers. The bibliography covers the period from the 1890s through to 1986.
- Reference guide to Russian literature. Ed. Neil Cornwell. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998.
CALL NUMBER: PG 2940 R44 1998 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
Covers authors and their works from medieval times to the present, with emphasis on 19th and 20th century writers. Included are entries for more than 250 Russian writers, and over 300 important Russian literary works.
- Russian literature – overview and bibliography. Ed. Gene V. Palmer. New York: Nova Science Publishers, 2002.
CALL NUMBER: Z 2501 R88 2002 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
This bibliography serves as an overview of Russian literature, with both Russian and English language sources, accessed by subject, author and title indexes.
- Russian Novelists in the Age of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky. Ed. Judith E. Kalb snd J. Alexander Ogden. Detroit: The Gayle Group, 2001.
CALL Number: PG 3098 .3 R874 2001 (Dafoe Slavic Reference).
A bio-bibliographical resource focusing on the most well-known Russian writers of the mid- and late- nineteenth century.
- Russian prose writers after World War II. Ed. Christine Rydal. Farmington Hills, MI: Thomson Gale, 2005.
CALL NUMBER: PG 3094 R866 2005 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
A bio-bibliographical resource focusing on the most well-known Russian prose writers from the end of World War II to 1985. Included are such well-known writers as Viktor Nekrasov, Boris Pasternak, Andrei Siniavsky and Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn.
- Russkie pisateli, 1800-1917 : biograficheskii slovar'. Ed. Petr Alekseevich Nikolaev. Moskva: Nauchnoe Izdatel’stvo “Bol’shaia Rossiiskaia Entsiklopediia”, 1989-1999.
CALL Number: PG 2991 .3 R87 1989 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
A bio-blibliographical resource focusing on Russian literary figures covering the period 1800-1917. This multi-volume work (not yet completed) contains biographical information on hundreds of writers during Russia’s great literary period. A list of published works accompanies the entry of each individual writer.
- Vladislavlev, Ignatii Vladislavovich. Russkie pisateli XIX-XX st. : opyt bibliograficheskago posobiia po novieishei russkoi. Moskva: Knigoizd-vo "Nauka", 1918.
CALL NUMBER: Dafoe Slavic Reference Z 2503 V63 1918
A comprehensive bibliography of Russian writers of the nineteenth to early twentieth century. It is arranged alphabetically according to the writer’s surname. A valuable pre-revolutionary source, with hundreds of literary citations.