Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographical and Bio-bibliographical Sources - Ukrainian Literature
- Encyclopedia of Ukraine. Ed. Volodymyr Kubijovyc. Toronto: Published for the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies, 1984.
CALL NUMBER: DK 508 E52 1984 v.1-5 (Dafoe Reference and Dafoe Slavic Reference)
The most comprehensive encyclopedia on Ukraine in the English language. Production on this monumental project began in 1984 and was completed in 1993, -- two years after Ukraine’s declaration of independence. With over 20,000 detailed entries about Ukraine and Ukrainians, covering history, literature, ethnography, the economy, personalities, geography, and the diaspora.
- Entsyklopediia ukrainoznavstva. L'viv: Naukove t-vo im. T. Shevchenka u L'vovi; [United States]: Distributed by East View Publications, 1993.
CALL NUMBER: AE 60 U5 E5 1993 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
The multi-volume Entsyklopediia Ukrainoznavstva, is edited by Volodymyr Kubijovyc and is published by the Shevchenko Scientific Society. It is an invaluable source of verified factual information about Ukraine and its people, written by prominent Ukrainian emigre scholars. It served as the primary source for the English-language Encyclopedia of Ukraine. The Dafoe Slavic Collection holds both the original 1949 and the reprinted 1993 editions.
- MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures. New York: MLA (Database in E-Library)
Most comprehensive annual bibliography on literature, including Ukrainian literature. Covers books, dissertations, articles and essays. The printed bibliography is available from 1921-1995 in Dafoe Reference (Call Number Z 7006 M64). In addition to the printed volumes, easy access is available electronically through the MLA database in E-Library, covering the years 1963 to the present.
- Tarnavs'ka, Marta. Ukrainian literature in English: articles in journals and collections, 1840-1965 : an annotated bibliography. Edmonton: Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies Press, University of Alberta, 1992.
CALL NUMBER: Z 2514 U5 T35 1992 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
A comprehensive coverage of translations from, and materials about Ukrainian literature published in academic periodicals in the English language, from the mid-nineteenth century to the mid-1960s.
- Tarnavs'ka, Marta. Ukrainian literature in English : books and pamphlets, 1890-1965 : an annotated bibliography. Edmonton: Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies, 1988.
CALL NUMBER: Z 2514 U5 T35 1988 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
A comprehensive coverage of translations from, and materials about Ukrainian literature in monographs and pamphlets published in the English language, from the late nineteenth century to the mid-1960s.
- Piaseckyj, Oksana. Bibliography of Ukrainian Literature in English and French translation (1950-1986) and criticism. Ottawa: University of Ottawa Press, 1989.
CALL NUMBER: Z 2514 .U5 P43 1989 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
A comprehensive coverage of translations from and about, literature published in English and French covering the years 1950-1986, with a special section devoted to Ukrainian emigre literature, entitled, Ukrainian Literature of the Diaspora.
- Pys'mennyky Radians'koi Ukrainy: biobibliohrafichnyi dovidnyk 1917-1987. Kyiv : Rad. pys'mennyk, 1988.
CALL NUMBER: PG 3913 P97 1988 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
A comprehensive bio-bibliographic resource of Literary figures from the Soviet Ukrainian Period, covering the years 1917-1987.
- Ukrains’ki Pys’mennyky: Bio-biliohrafichnyi slovnyk. Kyiv: Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Khudozhnoi Literatury, 1960.
CALL NUMBER: Z 2514 U5 U42 (Dafoe Slavic Reference)
A multi-volume bio-bibliographical dictionary of Ukrainian writers from medieval times to the Soviet era. Ukrainian emigre writers are omitted from this source.
- Wynar, Bohdan S. Independent Ukraine: a bibliographic guide to English-language publications, 1989-1999. Englewood, Colo.: Ukrainian Academic Press, 2000.
CALL NUMBER: DK 508.12 W96 2000 (Dafoe Reference and Dafoe Slavic Reference)
With 1,700 evaluative annotations that describe important books, articles, scholarly essays and doctoral dissertations published about Ukraine in the English language, during the country’s first few years of independence. This annotated bibliography serves as both a complement and supplement to Wynar’s previous work, Ukraine: a bibliographic guide to English-language publications
- Wynar, Bohdan S. Ukraine: a bibliographic guide to English-language publications. Englewood, Colo.: Ukrainian Academic Press, 1990.
CALL NUMBER: DK 508.12 W96 1990 (Dafoe Reference and Dafoe Slavic Reference)
With 1,084 evaluative annotations that describe important books, articles, scholarly essays, and doctoral dissertations published about Ukraine in the English language prior to its independence in 1991. Materials are arranged according to broad subject headings such as literature, and history – which are further divided into various subcategories.