Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully indexes content from many arts and humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Simultaneous user limit: 1
Electronic Enlightenment offers a wide-ranging online collection of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers from the early 17th to mid-19th century. The collection not only includes correspondence between prominent figures, but also between them and their families, bankers and booksellers, butchers and housewives, servants and shopkeepers.
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Please note: This resource will be unavailable during scheduled maintenance at the publisher's website: Saturday , October 24th, 9:00 pm - 10:00 pm (CDT). My Research and Citations will be unavailable during this time.
Please note: Users can create a "My Research" account to save searches, documents, and citations (up to 4000). Citations can be exported up to 1000 at a time.
The Philosopher's Index features author-written abstracts of scholarly research published in books and journals, in all areas of philosophy. Coverage dates back to 1940, and includes publications from around the world.
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by publishing submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of research papers around the world.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy provides access to articles on philosophy written by experts in the field and revised on a regular basis. It changes frequently, so to ensure a stable citation for scholarly purposes, you should not cite the dynamic portion of the Encyclopedia.
- Continuum Encyclopedia of British Philosophy
In addition to biographical entries on the lives and works of individual thinkers, it incorporates major historical surveys of the core philosophical topics, mini factual entries to facilitate reference, and detailed entries on themes, movements, institutions, journals, influences and theories through the ages. The Encyclopedia brings together 2,500 entries contributed by over 500 international experts. It is a unique resource for students and specialists.
- Dictionary of Modern American Philosophers
This is a reference work for scholars working on almost any aspect of modern American thought. Both academic and non-academic philosophers are represented, as are a large number of female and minority thinkers whose work has been neglected. It includes those intellectuals involved in the development of psychology, pedagogy, sociology, anthropology, education, theology, political science, and several other fields.
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
This multivolume encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, surveying the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, and theories.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philsosophy
- Open access, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. Good companion to Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.