Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for articles from journals? Start with the databases below.
What are articles? What are journals? What are databases?
Articles are pieces of research that analyze very specific aspects or topics of that research field.
Journals are scholarly publications that publish articles and usually focus on a broader aspect of that topic.
Databases are websites that are searchable collections of journals, and sometimes include other material like e-books too.
Searching CRUSADES in the Catholic Periodical and Literature index will find articles and book chapters about the crusades and various aspects of the term and uses in past and present religious culture.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection : Series 1
The historical time period of the collection reflects upon a time of great doctrinal, social, and organizational change. The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today’s study and understanding.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection : Series 2
The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 consists of more than 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of the growing interest in and understanding of Eastern religions from the late 1800s to the early 1900s and also highlights significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans, and of new interest in and experimentation with non-western religions.
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation
This collection provides access to hundreds of thousands of pages of primary source material from the 16th and 17th centuries. Works include key catechisms, scholarly treatises, papal documents, devotional works, and theological volumes that influenced the reform from within the Catholic Church in the years before, during, and after the decrees of the Council of Trent.
Religion and the Law
This collection provides a research platform for the development, history, organization, and fundamental principles of various world religions. The collection also includes the Christian Legal Society publications, an assortment of Canon Law, and rare historical bibles.
Other Relevant Databases
America: History and Life
Simultaneous user limit: 6
America: History and Life is an index to scholarly literature dealing with Canadian and U.S. history. It covers the history of these two countries from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes articles, book reviews and dissertations. Political, diplomatic, military, economic, social, cultural, religious and intellectual history are included. The history of science, technology and medicine is also covered.
Early Encounters in North America : Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
Early Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1474 to the present. The collection is made up of personal accounts and unique perspectives.
Simultaneous user limit: 6
Historical Abstracts is an index to the world's scholarly literature in history. It covers the history of the world, including all countries, except Canada and the United States, for the period 1450 to the present. Works on Canadian and U.S. history are indexed in the ABC-CLIO database, "America: History and Life" The database indexes articles, book reviews and dissertations.
International Medieval Bibliography
Coverage: 400 - 1500
The International Medieval Bibliography is an interdisciplinary bibliography of articles dealing with all aspects of Medieval studies. It covers the entire continent of Europe, as well as the Middle East and North Africa. Articles come from periodicals, conference proceedings and books.
Iter : Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Coverage: 400 - 1700
Iter is a bibliography of secondary source material about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance. It includes citations for books, journals, dissertation abstracts, essays, catalogues, discographies, and others.
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.