LibGuides: Catholic Studies: Finding Books

Best Bets

Atla Historical Monographs Collection : Series 1 This link opens in a new window
The historical time period of the collection reflects upon a time of great doctrinal, social, and organizational change. The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today’s study and understanding.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection : Series 2 This link opens in a new window
The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 consists of more than 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of the growing interest in and understanding of Eastern religions from the late 1800s to the early 1900s and also highlights significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans, and of new interest in and experimentation with non-western religions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.

New Catholic Encyclopedia
The reference work is prized for its scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities. Topics include abortion, divorce, cloning, and reproductive technologies. In addition to the hundreds of new, signed articles on a wide variety of topics, this edition also features biographies of contemporary religious figures, thousands of photos, maps, and illustrations, and completely updated bibliographical citations. The 15th volume is a cumulative index to the entire encyclopedia.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online provides access to Grove Dictionary of Art and Benezit Dictionary of Artists. It includes hundreds of thousands of articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, including images, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (3rd ed. revised) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is a reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church, including theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; the Bible; the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics.
Religion: Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion contains articles written and peer-reviewed by experts of the topic. Articles are monitored and updated regularly.