LibGuides: Religion: Finding Books

Books

Atla Historical Monographs Collection : Series 1 This link opens in a new window
The historical time period of the collection reflects upon a time of great doctrinal, social, and organizational change. The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today’s study and understanding.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection : Series 2 This link opens in a new window
The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 consists of more than 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of the growing interest in and understanding of Eastern religions from the late 1800s to the early 1900s and also highlights significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans, and of new interest in and experimentation with non-western religions.

Taylor & Francis Religion Collection
Until December 2023, UM Libraries has access to Taylor & Francis' entire collection of eBooks. This includes the selection linked above which consists of over 5000 eBooks on the subject of Religion from publishers like Routledge.
List of Taylor & Francis eBook Series on Religion

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources on Religion
Librarians at the University of Manitoba have compiled this list of relevant OER materials which may be of use in teaching religious studies.
Six Ways of Being Religious
The book proposes the hypothesis that six generic ways of being religious may be found in any large-scale religious tradition such as Christianity or Buddhism or Islam or Hinduism: sacred rite, right action, devotion, shamanic mediation, mystical quest, and reasoned inquiry. These are recurrent ways in which, socially and individually, devout members of these traditions take up and appropriate their stories and symbols in order to draw near to, and come into right relationship with, what the traditions attest to be the ultimate reality.
Studying the Bible: The Tanakh and Early Christian Writings
Studying the Bible: The Tanakh and Early Christian Writings is a university-level, textbook introduction to the study of the Bible, its literary forms, and historical and cultural contexts. This textbook is a companion to the Bible courses taught in the English Department at Kansas State University, in particular ENGL 470 The Bible, though it is available for use in other courses and contexts. This textbook examines the Hebrew Bible (also known as the Tanakh) and the early Christian writings of the New Testament. It is an introduction to the analysis of biblical texts, their histories, and their interpretations. The emphasis throughout this textbook is on the literary qualities of these biblical texts as well as their cultural and historical contexts.

Relevant Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Includes details about the lives of significant legal thinkers, theologians, political thinkers and geographers where their lives are relevant indicators of the progress of philosophy in the Islamic world. Every major school of thought, from classical falasifa to Sufi mysticism, is represented.
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls features articles by an international community of scholars, covering the history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround the scrolls. The works are viewed in historical, linguistic, and religious contexts, with archaeological evidence for dating and preservation of the manuscripts.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules. Each entry is a selective guided tour through the key literature on a topic and receives multiple peer-reviews. The University of Manitoba Libraries subscribes to the following subject modules:
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Philosophy
Renaissance & Reformation
Social Work
Victorian Literature
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (3rd ed. revised) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is a reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church, including theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; the Bible; the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics.
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace This link opens in a new window
This multivolume encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, surveying the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, and theories.
Religion: Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion contains articles written and peer-reviewed by experts of the topic. Articles are monitored and updated regularly.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy provides access to articles on philosophy written by experts in the field and revised on a regular basis. It changes frequently, so to ensure a stable citation for scholarly purposes, you should not cite the dynamic portion of the Encyclopedia.

New Catholic Encyclopedia
The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Worldmark Encyclopedia Of Religious Practices, provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.

Religion: Finding Books

Books

Open Educational Resources

Relevant Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

How to Find Books