Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles and Databases
Simultaneous user limit: 3
L'Année Philologique is an index of publications related to the history, language, literature and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome.
The ARTstor Digital Library provides images with tools for teaching and research. Collections are comprised of contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates from all over the world. Collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian, Classical, Medieval and Renaissance Studies.
AWOL List of Journals
An alphabetical list of open access journals in ancient studies, by AWOL, the Ancient World OnLine blog.
Bibliotheca Augustana : litteraturae et artis collection
As part of Bibliotheca Augustana, Ulrich Harsch provides an index to full-text versions of literary works dating from the eighth century to the 20th century. Users can perform searches by date, genre, or author. Biographical sketches and photographic images of selected authors are available.
Dyabola is collection of databases devoted to Ancient and Eurasian archaeology, history, and art history. The University of Manitoba Libraries provides access to the following: Archaeological Bibliography; Bibliography of European Prehistory; and Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archaeologischen Instituts.
Comprehensive finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Originally published in six volumes, between 1963 and 1992, it is an essential tool for any scholar working in the fields of classical, medieval and Renaissance studies.
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules. Each entry is a selective guided tour through the key literature on a topic and receives multiple peer-reviews. The University of Manitoba Libraries subscribes to the following subject modules:
Cinema and Media Studies
Renaissance & Reformation
Project MUSE Full Database
Project MUSE offers full-text articles from scholarly journals from major university presses, covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
SAGE Journals Online
Please note: For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage page for more information.
SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of SAGE journals, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG) is an annual publication collecting newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. SEG presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions, it summarizes new readings, interpretations and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents. Inscriptions are listed by their provenance; material later than the 8th century A.D. is not included.
Trismegistos is an interdisciplinary portal of the ancient world. It contains information on texts from antiquity and aims to facilitate cross-cultural and cross-linguistic research.
WorldCat is a database of bibliographic records for all types of materials catalogued in libraries around the world, and includes the holdings of most academic libraries in North America. Catalogued materials include books, journals, electronic resources, manuscripts, and audio-visual materials, in hundreds of languages.
APIS: Advanced Papyrological Information System
APIS is a tool for studying papryological material held in collections around the world. Descriptions and images of the papyri are typically available, translations are not always. The collection is searchable.
The Beazley Archive
The online database of the Beazley archive, which houses a vast collection of Classical artwork, especially pottery. The database is searchable by such fields as location of origin, artist, shape and inscription.
Brill's New Pauly = Der Neue Pauly
Provides comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquitiy (600-800 CE). Contains the complete Der Neue Pauly and Brill's New Pauly, which is being translated into English.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR)
The digital archive of the Bryn Mawr reviews of scholarly work in the field of Classics.
Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum
The CIL collects Latin inscriptions from the whole territory of the Roman Empire, ordering them geographically and systematically. The descriptions include images of the original inscription if available, drawings showing the letters in their original size and position, and an interpretation reconstructing abbreviations and missing words, along with discussion of issues and problems. The language of the CIL is Latin.
Digital Classicist Very Clean URLs
This page collects URIs that have no "cruft", meaning no ".cgi",".php",".asp","?","&","=" and the like.
A resource for the study of women in the ancient world, including bibliographies on a variety of related topics.
eDonnelly Loeb Listing
A listing of the books in the Loeb Library (well-regarded translations of Classical sources), including links to editions that have fallen out of copyright and are available freely online as PDFs or ebooks.
Electronic Resources for Classicists: The 2nd Generation
A collection of online resources related to the study and teaching of Classics.
An encyclopedia of mythologies from the around the world, including Greek and Roman materials. Contains genealogies and images.
Encyclopedia of the Hellenic World
An online encyclopedia of Hellenic society, with a focus on its appearance outside of Greece.
A digitized collection of materials from the ancient Near East. ETANA has three databses; ABZU for research related to the study of the ancient Near East and Mediterranean, Core Texts for material related to teaching on the ancient world, and ETACT for translations of Akkadian materials.
Information about archaeological digs since 2000, including digs in Italy.
Internet Classics Archive
A collection of over 400 Greek and Roman primary sources online.
A searchable bibliography of materials relating to Greece and the Near East.
ORBIS allows us to express Roman communication costs in terms of both time and expense. By simulating movement along the principal routes of the Roman road network, the main navigable rivers, and hundreds of sea routes in the Mediterranean, Black Sea and coastal Atlantic, this interactive model reconstructs the duration and financial cost of travel in antiquity. Taking account of seasonal variation and accommodating a wide range of modes and means of transport, ORBIS reveals the true shape of the Roman world and provides a unique resource for our understanding of premodern history.
The Perseus Digital Library has many ancient texts available online, in both English and the original Greek or Latin, as well as information about archaeological collections across the globe.
PHI Greek Inscriptions
A collection of Greek epigraphy, prepared by the Packard Humanities Institute.
PHI Latin Texts
A collection of Latin works by ancient authors, prepared by the Packard Humanities Institute.
The Stoa Consortium
A blog that offers some of the latest information in the field of Classics; closely associated with the Perseus Project.
Theoi Greek Mythology
An exploration of Greek mythology and mythological characters in literature and art.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae: TLG
A comprehensive digital collection of Greek texts, from Homer to Byzantium.
A table of contents for Classics journals, along with journals on Near Eastern and Religious Studies. The maintainers have included links to the articles and abstracts where they can.
Voice of the Shuttle: Classics
A hub of many Classics resources available on the internet.
Non-English Online Resources
A bibliographic database of Classical materials. The primary language of the site is German, though elements of it can be translated to English or French.