Classical Studies: Online Resources

APIS is a tool for studying papryological material held in collections around the world. Descriptions and images of the papyri are typically available, translations are not always. The collection is searchable.

The online database of the Beazley archive, which houses a vast collection of Classical artwork, especially pottery. The database is searchable by such fields as location of origin, artist, shape and inscription.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquitiy (600-800 CE). Contains the complete Der Neue Pauly and Brill's New Pauly, which is being translated into English.

The digital archive of the Bryn Mawr reviews of scholarly work in the field of Classics.

The CIL collects Latin inscriptions from the whole territory of the Roman Empire, ordering them geographically and systematically. The descriptions include images of the original inscription if available, drawings showing the letters in their original size and position, and an interpretation reconstructing abbreviations and missing words, along with discussion of issues and problems. The language of the CIL is Latin.

This page collects URIs that have no "cruft", meaning no ".cgi",".php",".asp","?","&","=" and the like.

A resource for the study of women in the ancient world, including bibliographies on a variety of related topics.

A listing of the books in the Loeb Library (well-regarded translations of Classical sources), including links to editions that have fallen out of copyright and are available freely online as PDFs or ebooks.

A collection of online resources related to the study and teaching of Classics.

An encyclopedia of mythologies from the around the world, including Greek and Roman materials. Contains genealogies and images.

An online encyclopedia of Hellenic society, with a focus on its appearance outside of Greece.

A digitized collection of materials from the ancient Near East. ETANA has three databses; ABZU for research related to the study of the ancient Near East and Mediterranean, Core Texts for material related to teaching on the ancient world, and ETACT for translations of Akkadian materials.

Information about archaeological digs since 2000, including digs in Italy.

A collection of over 400 Greek and Roman primary sources online.

A searchable bibliography of materials relating to Greece and the Near East.

ORBIS allows us to express Roman communication costs in terms of both time and expense. By simulating movement along the principal routes of the Roman road network, the main navigable rivers, and hundreds of sea routes in the Mediterranean, Black Sea and coastal Atlantic, this interactive model reconstructs the duration and financial cost of travel in antiquity. Taking account of seasonal variation and accommodating a wide range of modes and means of transport, ORBIS reveals the true shape of the Roman world and provides a unique resource for our understanding of premodern history.

The Perseus Digital Library has many ancient texts available online, in both English and the original Greek or Latin, as well as information about archaeological collections across the globe.

A collection of Greek epigraphy, prepared by the Packard Humanities Institute.

A collection of Latin works by ancient authors, prepared by the Packard Humanities Institute.

A blog that offers some of the latest information in the field of Classics; closely associated with the Perseus Project.

An exploration of Greek mythology and mythological characters in literature and art.

A comprehensive digital collection of Greek texts, from Homer to Byzantium.

A table of contents for Classics journals, along with journals on Near Eastern and Religious Studies. The maintainers have included links to the articles and abstracts where they can.

A hub of many Classics resources available on the internet.

Contributions from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world. WDL preserves and shares some of the world’s most important cultural objects, increasing access to cultural treasures and significant historical documents to enable discovery, scholarship, and use.

A bibliographic database of Classical materials. The primary language of the site is German, though elements of it can be translated to English or French.