Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Top Reference Books
All of the these books have in part been selected because they are standard resources in family medicine and they may easily be viewed on a mobile device.
Color Atlas of Family Medicine by The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, Second Edition is a comprehensive atlas designed to facilitate diagnosis using outwardly appearing signs and manifestations. The superb collection of clinical images is supported by concise, evidence-based treatment recommendations presented in convenient, easy-to-apply bulleted text. Each chapter begins with a story that ties the photographs to real-life patients. Coverage for each condition includes: Patient Story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management.
Publication Date: 2013-05-14
Family Medicine by A comprehensive reference source providing crystal clear guidelines for diagnosing and managing the acute and chronic problems regularly encountered by all family practitioners. This expanded fifth edition includes new material on: health promotion, population based health care, genetic disorders, somatization disorders, care of the dying patient, disorders of the breast, breast cancer, developmental issues and behavioural problems of adolescents, smoking cessation, nutrition, and enlightened discussions of controversial topics such as managed care and ethical issues. An additional new section on family practice applications includes clinical guidelines and information management in clinical practice with the latest information on computers in diagnosis and management, electronic medical records, and quality assurance. All the editors and primary chapter authors are themselves practising family physicians - giving readers the advantageof the family medicine experience and viewpoint on every issue. This single volume encompasses both the latest developments in family medicine as well as serving as a single-source reference for practitioners.
Publication Date: 2013-06-29
Signs and Symptoms in Family Medicine by Signs and Symptoms in Family Medicine, by Paul M. Paulman, MD et al, provides a unique evidence-based approach to diagnosis based on presenting signs. Focusing on the most common diagnoses observed in a medical practice, the book helps you "think horses, not zebras." A rating system for the sensitivity and specificity of the signs, symptoms, and diagnostic tests aids in the development of a focused and accurate differential diagnosis. This handy, take-along guide is ideal for quick reference at the bedside or a refresher while prepping for the boards. Confidently diagnose and treat common illnesses and conditions using an evidence-based, systematic approach. A unique ratings system indicates how frequently various symptoms and signs are associated with a particular diagnosis. Easily find what you need with consistently organized chapters and an at-a-glance bulleted format. "Think horses, not zebras" with a focus on the most frequently encountered diagnoses. Rule out the most serious possibilities quickly with differential diagnoses listed in descending order of severity. Review symptoms, signs, suggested work-up, and patient disposition for each diagnosis. Patients present with symptoms, not diagnoses
Publication Date: 2011-08-17
Textbook of Family Medicine by Highly acclaimed in its first two editions, Ian R. McWhinney's Textbook of Family Medicine is one of the seminal texts in the field. While many family medicine texts simply cover the disorders a practitioner might see in clinical practice, McWhinney defines the principles and practices of family medicine as a separate and distinct field of practice. The initial sections cover basic principles and philosophies of family medicine and a later section discusses approaches to common diseases encountered in practice. The discussions not only address these clinical problems, but each is a workshop for incorporating what it means to be a family physician into everyday practice. The new edition is updated throughout with help from a group of reviewers and a new coauthor, Thomas Freeman, Chairman of the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Western Ontario, where McWhinney is Professor Emeritus.
Publication Date: 2009-04-08
Textbook of Family Medicine by Edited by Robert E. Rakel, MD and David P. Rakel, MD, Textbook of Family Medicine remains your #1 choice for complete guidance on the principles of family medicine, primary care in the community, and all aspects of clinical practice. Ideal for both residents and practicing physicians, it includes evidence-based, practical information to optimize your patient care and prepare you for the ABFM exam. The full-color format features a clean, quick-reference layout that makes it easy for you to put information to work immediately in your practice. You can also access the complete contents online at www.expertconsult.com, plus 30 videos of common office procedures, additional chapters on timely topics, and figures, tables, and photographs that supplement the text. Prepare for success on the ABFM exam with complete coverage of all aspects of family medicine. Access information quickly with an efficient, full-color layout that makes it easy to apply the latest knowledge in your practice. Take advantage of today's most useful online resources with a convenient list of outstanding clinical websites. Quickly spot "Best Evidence Recommendations" with special boxes located throughout the text. Glean helpful tips on diagnosis and therapy from "Key Points" boxes found on every page. Access the complete contents and illustrations online at www.expertconsult.com - fully searchable - plus additional figures, tables, and photographs online, as well as online-only chapters that cover topics such as prescribing nutritional supplements and botanicals. View 30 videos online covering common office procedures such as vasectomy, the proper use of today's diabetic equipment, and endometrial biopsy. Gain a new understanding of the patient-centered medical home and how to achieve this status in outpatient clinics. Make the most effective care decisions with help from "Evidence vs. Harm" icons that guide you through key treatments of common medical conditions. The Textbook of Family Medicine continues to provide the latest, most comprehensive coverage of family medicine practice.
Call Number: WB 110 T355t8 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-24
Family Medicine Select eBooks (I-Z)
Pallitative Care / End of Life
Diagnosis & Laboratory Tests
Health System & Professional Practice