The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
All of the these books have in part been selected because they are standard resources in family medicine and they may easily be viewed on a mobile device.
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition by
The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, Second Edition is a comprehensive atlas designed to facilitate diagnosis using outwardly appearing signs and manifestations. The superb collection of clinical images is supported by concise, evidence-based treatment recommendations presented in convenient, easy-to-apply bulleted text. Each chapter begins with a story that ties the photographs to real-life patients. Coverage for each condition includes: Patient Story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management.
Family Medicine by
A comprehensive reference source providing crystal clear guidelines for diagnosing and managing the acute and chronic problems regularly encountered by all family practitioners. This expanded fifth edition includes new material on: health promotion, population based health care, genetic disorders, somatization disorders, care of the dying patient, disorders of the breast, breast cancer, developmental issues and behavioural problems of adolescents, smoking cessation, nutrition, and enlightened discussions of controversial topics such as managed care and ethical issues. An additional new section on family practice applications includes clinical guidelines and information management in clinical practice with the latest information on computers in diagnosis and management, electronic medical records, and quality assurance. All the editors and primary chapter authors are themselves practising family physicians - giving readers the advantage of the family medicine experience and viewpoint on every issue. This single volume encompasses both the latest developments in family medicine as well as serving as a single-source reference for practitioners.
Signs and Symptoms in Family Medicine by
Signs and Symptoms in Family Medicine, by Paul M. Paulman, MD et al, provides a unique evidence-based approach to diagnosis based on presenting signs. Focusing on the most common diagnoses observed in a medical practice, the book helps you "think horses, not zebras." A rating system for the sensitivity and specificity of the signs, symptoms, and diagnostic tests aids in the development of a focused and accurate differential diagnosis. This handy, take-along guide is ideal for quick reference at the bedside or a refresher while prepping for the boards. Confidently diagnose and treat common illnesses and conditions using an evidence-based, systematic approach. A unique ratings system indicates how frequently various symptoms and signs are associated with a particular diagnosis. Easily find what you need with consistently organized chapters and an at-a-glance bulleted format. "Think horses, not zebras" with a focus on the most frequently encountered diagnoses. Rule out the most serious possibilities quickly with differential diagnoses listed in descending order of severity. Review symptoms, signs, suggested work-up, and patient disposition for each diagnosis. Patients present with symptoms, not diagnoses
McWhinney's Textbook of Family Medicine by
Highly acclaimed in its first three editions, McWhinney's Textbook of Family Medicine is one of the seminal texts in the field. While many family medicine texts simply cover the disorders a practitioner might see in clinical practice, McWhinney's defines the principles and practices of familymedicine as a separate and distinct field of practice. The fourth edition presents six new clinical chapters of common problems in family medicine: respiratory illness, musculoskeletal pain, depression, diabetes, obesity and multimorbidity.This new edition also provides information on stewardship of resources, patient information and data, delivery of care in the home, and consultation and referral. The volume also covers continuing advances in the research base of family medicine. Readers will come away with a deeper appreciation forthe role of the generalist in healthcare.
Textbook of Family Medicine by
This ninth edition of the Textbook of Family Medicine, edited by Drs. Robert E. Rakel and David P. Rakel, remains your #1 choice for complete guidance on the principles of family medicine, primary care in the community, and all aspects of clinical practice. Ideal for both residents and practicing physicians, this medical reference book includes evidence-based, practical information to optimize patient care and prepare you for the ABFM exam. A clean, quick-reference layout makes it easy for you to put information to work immediately in your practice. Gain a new understanding of the patient-centered medical home and how to achieve this status in outpatient clinics. Make the most effective care decisions with help from "Evidence vs. Harm" icons that guide you through key treatments of common medical conditions. Take advantage of today's most useful online resources with a convenient list of outstanding clinical websites. Quickly spot "Best Evidence Recommendations" with special boxes located throughout the text, and glean helpful tips on diagnosis and therapy from "Key Points" boxes found on every page. Quickly access content with an efficient new layout that includes more than 1,000 tables and full-color illustrations; treatment boxes for a concise overview of how to treat various conditions; Grade A SORT recommendations; and key points highlighting the major takeaways of each chapter. Take advantage of an enhanced focus on team-based care as the role of primary care providers evolves, and stay up to date on the most current practice guidelines with evidence-based information throughout. View 30 immersive procedural videos online from Procedures Consult, including chest tube placement, knee injection, vasectomy, vaginal tear repair, skin biopsy, colposcopy, IUD insertion, and more. Remain at the forefront of the field with coverage on self-care, the emergence of tobacco alternatives such as e-cigarettes, and the changing picture of cancer in America. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Dermatology
Emergency Medicine
Endocrinology
Internal Medicine
Obstetrics & Gynecology
Pallitative Care / End of Life
Pharmacy
Psychiatry
Radiology
Recommended Books
Clinical Cases in Skin of Color: adnexal, inflammation, infections, and pigmentary disorders by 
Clinical Cases in Skin of Color: Medical, Oncological and Hair Disorders, and Cosmetic Dermatology by 
