Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Slavic Studies - Russian Studies Guide: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Print Dictionaries

  • Ageenko, F. and M Zarva. Slovar' udarenii russkogo iazyka A-IA. 82,500 slovarnykh edinits. Moskva: AIRIS PRESS, 2000.
    Slavic Reference  PG 2139 A35 2000
  • Apresian, IU., et al. Novyi obʺiasnitelʹnyi slovarʹ sinonimov russkogo iazyka.  Moskva : Shkola "IAzyki russkoi kulʹtury", 1999.
    Slavic Reference PG 2591 N63 1999 vyp. 1-3
  • Arakin, V.D., et al. NTC's New College Russian and English Dictionary. Lincolnwood, IL: NTC Publishing Group, 1996.
    Slavic Reference  PG 2640 N786 1996
  • Benyukh, O.  English-Russian comprehensive dictionary. New York, NY : Hippocrene Books, 1995.
    Slavic Reference  PG 2640 E54 1995
  • Benyukh, O. Russian-English Comprehensive Dictionary. New York, NY : Hippocrene Books, 1997.
    Slavic Reference  PG 2640 R79 2007
  • Bol'shoi russko-frantsuzskii slovar': 200,000 slov i slovosochetanii.  Moskva : Russkii iazyk media, 2004.
    Slavic Reference  PG 2640 F5 B64 2004
  • Borkowski, P. The great Russian-English dictionary of idioms and set expressions.London: [s.n.], 1973.
    Slavic Reference  PG 2640 B65
  • Corten, I. Vocabulary of Soviet society and culture. A selected guide to Russian words, idioms, and expressions of the Post-Stalin era, 1953-1991. Durham, N.C.; London, UK: Duke University Press, 1992.
    Slavic Reference PG 2691 C6 1992
  • Elistratov, V. IAzik staroi Moskvyi. Lingvoentsiklopedicheskii slovar'. Okolo 7,000 slov i vyrazhenii. Moskva: AST; Astrel', 2004.
    Slavic Reference PG 2750 M58 E45 2004
  • Falla, P. The Russian Oxford Dictionary.Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
    Slavic Reference PG 2640 W5 1997
  • Frantsuzsko-Russkii slovarʹ aktivnogo tipa. Moskva : Russkii iazyk media, 2005.
    Slavic Reference PG 2645 F5 F72 2005
  • Gal'perin, I.P. ans E.M. Mednikov (Eds.). Bolʹshoi anglo-russkii slovarʹ. Moskva : "Russkii iazyk", 1987-1988.
    Slavic Reference  PG 2640 G3 1987 t.1-2
  • Geld, I. Dictionary of omissions for Russian translators with examples from scientific texts. Columbus, OH: Slavica Publishers, Inc., 1993.
    Slavic Reference PG 2691 G44 1993
  • Katzner, K. English-Russian, Russian-English dictionary. New York ; Toronto : Wiley, 1984.
    Dafoe Main Stacks, Management Reference, Sciences & Technology Reference, Slavic Main Stacks, Slavic Reference PG 2640 K34 1984
  • Kveselevich, D.I. Russko-Angliiskii slovar' nenormativnoi leksiki. Okolo 15,000 slov i 4,000 frazeologicheskikh edinits. Moskva: Astrel'; AST, 2002
    Slavic Reference PG 2752 K88 2002
  • Marder, S. A supplementary Russian-English Dictionary. Columbus, OH: Slavica Publishers, 1992.
    Slavic Reference  PG 2640 M37 1992
  • Molotkov, A.I.Frazeologicheskii slovarʹ russkogo iazyka: svyshe 4000 slovarnykh statei. Moskva : Russkii iazyk, 1978.
    Slavic Reference  PG 2689 M6 1978
  • Orfograficheskii slovarʹ naibolee upotrebitelʹnykh slov russkogo iazyka.Moskva: TSentrpoligraf, 2008.
    Slavic Reference  PG 2146 O725 2008
  • Pevikova, S.I. Bol'shoi slovar' molodezhnogo slenga. Moskva: FAIR-PRESS, 2003
    Slavic Reference PG 2752 L48 2003
  • Popova, L.P.,and  N.R. Mokina and G.V. Zakharova.Sovremennyi anglo-russkii slovar'. Okolo 50,000 slov i 70,000 slovosochetanii. Moskva:  "RUSSO", 2004
    Slavic Reference  PG 2640 P658 2004
  • Ryan, W.F.  The Penguin Russian Dictionary. London : Viking, 1995.
    Slavic Reference PG 2640 R93 1995
  • Shipp, J. Russian, English dictionary of abbreviations & initialisms. Philadelphia: Translation Research Institute, 1982.
    Slavic Reference PG 2693 S5 1982
  • Shlyakhov, V. and E. Adler. Dictionary of Russian Slang and Colloquial Expressions. Hauppauge, NY: Barron's Educational Series, 2006.
    Slavic Reference PG 2752 S57 2006
  • Shvedova, N. (Ed.).   Tolkovyi slovar' russkogo iazyka c vkliucheniem svedenii o proiskhozhdenii slov (82,000 slov i frazeologicheskikh vyrazhenii). Moskva: Izdatelʹskii tsentr "Azbukovnik", 2007.
    Slavic Reference PG 2625 T65 2007
  • Skliarevskaia, G. Slovar' sokrashchenii sovremennogo russkogo iazyka. Bolee 6000 sokrashchenii. Moskva: EKSMO, 2006.
    Slavic Reference PG 2693 S555 2006
  • Solzhenitsyn, A.I. Russskii slovar' iazykovogo rasshireniia. Moskva: Izdatel'stvo "Russkii put'", 2000.
    Slavic Reference PG 2630 S65 2000
  • Val'ter, KH., et al. Slovar' zaimstvovaniia v russkom substandarte anglitsizmy. Moskva: ITI Tekhnologii, 2004.
    Slavic Reference PG 2582 E5 S58 2004
  • Zalucky, H. Compressed Russian. Russian-English dictionary of acronyms, semiacronyms and other abbreviations used in contemporary standard Russian with their pronunciation and explicit correlates in Russian and equivalents in English. Amsterdam; Oxford; New York; Tokyo: Elsevier, 1991.
    Slavic Reference PG 2693 Z28 1991

Electronic Dictionaries

Ask a Librarian

Ask Us Icon