Civil Engineering

The ASCE Research Library provides online access to civil engineering content. The collection includes American Society of Civil Engineers journal articles, conference papers, standards, and selected e-books from 1998 to the present - including all in-print ASCE Manuals of Practice and ASCE Press titles.

Engineering Village provides a searchable index of engineering literature and patent information. Designed by, and for, the engineering community, the platform offers access to multiple engineering databases, providing peer-reviewed, deeply indexed engineering research content.

Web of Science is a a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.

Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources

Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.

The COLD database includes the USPA Permafrost Alert Program (2011-
Present), the Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology (1900-2011) and the Antarctic Bibliography (1950-2011).

Established by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by tens of thousands of references a year and includes references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

GeoRef In Process contains unedited records that are still in the process of being indexed, prior to their integration into the main GeoRef database. Some of the records originate from older, non-English language literature, while other more current records are not yet complete. In Process records may lack a few fields or contain minimal data in some fields.

GreenFILE offers research information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

TRID provides access to transportation research worldwide, combining records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.

The Winnipeg Building Index is an ongoing project which identifies sources of information on Winnipeg's rich and varied architecture. The sources may include monographs, journals articles, ephemera, plans, elevations and images.