Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Engineering e-book collection
Knovel is an online technical resource used by applied scientists and engineers to locate reliable technical information.
Please note: Due to publisher restrictions, some titles cannot be downloaded or printed. Content of books published by Cambridge University Press are not available for offline mobile access via "My Knovel To Go" this includes printing and downloading of content.
McGraw-Hill’s Access Engineering provides the highest quality engineering textbooks and handbooks including Mark’s Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Roark’s Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more.
Credo Reference is an online reference service that aggregates authoritative reference works for desktop delivery. There are approximately 180 reference titles in Credo Reference, giving a total of 1.7 million entries, fully integrated and cross-linked.
The University of Manitoba Libraries has access to the following:
- Encyclopedia of Animal Science
- Encyclopedia of Optical Engineering
- Encyclopedia of Pest Management
- Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science
- Encyclopedia of Soil Science
- Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry
Elsevier Reference Works
Elsevier Reference Works on Science Direct is a collection of electronic encyclopedias providing comprehensive topical reviews in the basic and clinical biomedical sciences. Search all the contents at once, individually or browse the table of contents for each encyclopedic work. View chapters in preview mode or download them as a PDF. Link from cited sources within a chapter to the Scopus record, to cited by records in Scopus, or to the full text of many articles.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes tens of thousands of encyclopedic records and covers an array of topics. Full text for all records is available.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Google Books is a huge repository of books and magazines. In many cases, access is restricted to certain percentage of the contents, but many older works are fully readable on the screen.
Access to 1961-2014 content only.
SpringerMaterials provides curated data and functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields. SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, and also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data.