LibGuides: Biosystems Engineering: Standards Databases

Standards available at the University of Manitoba

The University of Manitoba Libraries has online access to the following standard collections.

Some additional standards may be available in print format. To locate these standards use the Library Search feature.

ASABE standards
These are full-text online standards from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.
ASHRAE Standards
Some of the ASHRAE Standards are available for free. The standards can only be read online.
Canadian General Standards Board (CGSB)
Many standards from the Canadian General Standards Board are available free of charge on their website.

ASCE Research Library This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Research Library provides online access to civil engineering content. The collection includes ASCE journal articles, ebooks and conference papers. Includes some standards.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Please Note: The publisher requires users to agree to terms before accessing ASTM; please read carefully any terms of use statements.

Please Note: Apple device users, Mac/iPad/etc., must disable "Prevent Cross-site tracking" in Safari privacy settings. For Chrome on these devices, users must enable “Allow Cross-website tracking”.

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Canadian Standards Association OnDemand This link opens in a new window
Please Note: This resource restricts the use of PDFs: PDF printing is disabled by the publisher, PDFs can't be viewed off-campus; they can only be accessed on-campus, view and download only.

Please Note: University of Manitoba Libraries does not have access to standards that are in process or not yet adopted by the CSA.

Please Note: Users are encouraged to create a free personal account for extra functions: marking favorites, highlighting, and adding notes to PDFs.

The new platform for CSA Standards, CSA OnDemand is a searchable library of standards from the Canadian Standards Association. It provides continually updated standards for online viewing; PDF format is disabled off-campus. French-language standards are included when available, as well as archives of past standards. Subjects include construction, engineering, electrical, energy, environmental, health & safety, information technology, infrastructure, mechanical & industrial equipment, and business management systems.
IEEE Xplore: IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
Full-text online IEEE standards are available here; you can sign up for alerts to changes in their standards.

Freely Available Standards to Support Covid-19 Response

Standard Organizations Offering Free Standards Related to Medical Equipment and Devices

The ANSI portal includes access to some ISO standards that are not currently available from the University of Manitoba Libraries. Standards covering medical equipment and devices—including ventilators and respiratory equipment; protective clothing used in health care settings; and business continuity management, security, and resilience are available in read-only format for no cost during the Covid-19 crisis. To access the portal, users must accept the license agreement and register. Once registered, users can return to the portal via https://asc.ansi.org.

AAMI is providing free standards in the area of health technology.

ASTM is providing free access to standards on the production and testing of personal protective equipment. To view a list of the standards go to https://www.astm.org/COVID-19/. The University of Manitoba Libraries has access to all ASTM standards which can be accessed with your UMNetID and password at this link: ASTM Standards.

European Union is offering free standards for certain medical devices and personal protective equipment.

International Standards Organization (ISO) standards documents covering medical equipment and devices, business continuity management, security, and resilience are available on the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Standards Connect platform. To access the standards follow the directions for the ANSI standards listed above.

Standards for Personal Protective Equipment, Medical Devices & Supplies

The University of Toronto Libraries has compiled a list of standards for personal protective equipment, specifications, prototypes, & 3D Printing and patent resources related to Covid-19. For assistance in retrieving any listed standards at the University of Manitoba, please contact Marie Speare.

Other Standards not available at the University of Manitoba

BSI British Standards Institute
BSI is the National Standards Body of the UK. We have some older BSI standards.
Bureau de normalisation du Québec (BNQ)
NIST - National Institute of Standards and Technology
Founded in 1901, NIST is a non-regulatory federal agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce. NIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.
ISO Standards - International Organization for Standardization
ISO is a network of the national standards institutes of 162 countries, one member per country, with a Central Secretariat in Geneva, Switzerland, that coordinates the system.
Standards Council of Canada
The Standards Council of Canada (SCC) facilitates the development and use of national and international standards and accreditation services to enhance Canada's competitiveness and social well-being.
Underwriters Laboratories of Canada (ULC)
ULC is an independent product safety testing, certification and inspection organization

Standards - Finding/Purchasing

IHS/Global Standards Store
IHS offers a broad base of engineering data from research and design to manufacturing and repair.
TechStreet
Providing engineers with efficient, convenient, reliable access to mission-critical industry codes and standards. Also track standards for free.